Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The Woman in the Lake
The Woman in the Lake | Nicola Cornick
17 posts | 10 read | 2 reading | 7 to read
From the bestselling author of House of Shadows and The Phantom Tree comes a spellbinding tale of jealousy, greed, plotting and revengepart history, part mysteryfor fans of Kate Morton, Susanna Kearsley and Barbara Erskine London, 1765 Lady Isabella Gerard, a respectable member of Georgian society, orders her maid to take her new golden gown and destroy it, its shimmering beauty tainted by the actions of her brutal husband the night before. Three months later, Lord Gerard stands at the shoreline of the lake, looking down at a woman wearing the golden gown. As the body slowly rolls over to reveal her face, its clear this was not his intended victim 250 Years Later When a gown she stole from a historic home as a child is mysteriously returned to Fenella Brightwell, it begins to possess her in exactly the same way that it did as a girl. Soon the fragile new life Fen has created for herself away from her abusive ex-husband is threatened at its foundations by the gowns power over her until she can't tell what is real and what is imaginary. As Fen uncovers more about the gown and Isabellas story, she begins to see the parallels with her own life. When each piece of history is revealed, the gownand its pastseems to possess her more and more, culminating in a dramatic revelation set to destroy her sanity.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
Librarybelle
The Woman in the Lake | Nicola Cornick
post image
Panpan

This book had so much promise, and yet it really fell flat for me. Granted, I did listen to it, and while I did appreciate multiple narrators telling the story, the narrators made everything sound more theatrical than necessary. Long pauses; long drawn out words. The story itself could have been interesting - a gown that haunts its owners - but the storyline seemed disjointed and stilted at times. Not the book for me!

DaveGreen7777 Sorry this book was a disappointment, Jess! 😔 4w
Librarybelle @DaveGreen7777 It‘s bound to happen from time to time. I‘m reading a bunch of other really good books, so that makes up for it! 4w
71 likes1 stack add2 comments
blurb
LorieL
The Woman in the Lake | Nicola Cornick
post image

This library find hooked me right away! On chapter 5 and looking forward to reading all evening. 🍁📖🍃
What are you reading this autumn Sunday?

Sace I'm reading Litsy posts. For some reason I haven't been reading lately, but I've been enjoying audiobooks. 1mo
LorieL @RestlessFickleBookHoarder That happened to me recently...nothing was holding my interest. I listened to a good audiobook and it helped me out of my slump. 😊 1mo
Sace I've been unable to just sit and read. I have to be doing something (like coloring, crocheting or knitting.) Audiobooks have been a godsend. 1mo
26 likes3 comments
blurb
LorieL
The Woman in the Lake | Nicola Cornick
post image

My October TBR!
🧡 The Girl Who Could See is a novella sent to me by the sweet author.
💛 The Woman in the Lake - my second try at a Nicole Cornick novel. But I've heard great things about this one.
❤️ The Beholder - YA historical fantasy by a debut author.
🤎 Gemini - the one I am least likely to finish. Enjoyed the creative format of the first book, but will the novelty wear off? 🤔

LorieL *Gemina is the last book (autocorrect 😯) 2mo
julesG I quite liked all three Illuminae files books. The second is about a different set of teenagers and a different location. I didn't think it got old. My constant excuse for reading YA novels is making sure my kids don't read any rubbish. 😀 2mo
LorieL @julesG That's good to hear! I'll have to make sure I get to it then. I have a perfect excuse for reading YA because I write it. 😆 2mo
julesG I know, I loved Olivia Twist. 2mo
LorieL @julesG Thanks so much!! 😍 2mo
39 likes5 comments
blurb
Andrew65
The Woman in the Lake | Nicola Cornick
post image

#LetsTravelAugust #Lakeside
Four lakeside books read in recent times.
The author for The Lake House is Kate Morton.

OriginalCyn620 👌🏻📚💙 3mo
77 likes1 stack add1 comment
blurb
ValerieAndBooks
The Woman in the Lake | Nicola Cornick
post image

Trying this (another one from the prize pack I won recently) as my next poolside read!

Macker11 Can‘t wait to hear about it! 5mo
ValerieAndBooks @Macker11 tbh I haven‘t gotten past the first chapter yet. It‘s been so hot lately that when I‘m down by the pool I‘m in the water instead of reading! They need to figure out how to waterproof books 😂 4mo
Macker11 A raft and waterproof books! Sounds like the best ever. Anyone in the process of inventing this yet? Thanks in advance 4mo
50 likes3 comments
blurb
mc916
The Woman in the Lake | Nicola Cornick
post image

I wanted a light listen with some mystery and came across this gem. It‘s very soap opera-y, perhaps it‘s the audio, but i did sit an extra 3 minutes in my car to finish the juicy chapter 😂. It‘s already better than the one i didn‘t finish, because that was booorreeeeee!! @Econaghan @BookBridget @wanderinglynn @laurar311 @WriterAtHeart @jmtrivera @Honeybeegirl @BookishBelle #book1of4 #bfcround2

wanderinglynn Glad this one is more exciting! 👍🏻 5mo
9 likes1 stack add1 comment
blurb
mc916
The Woman in the Lake | Nicola Cornick
post image

Current situation and current read. Ugh! I had to quit, A Well-Behaved Woman, because my time ran out in Overdrive...oh well! (It was a bore)

review
Andrew65
The Woman in the Lake | Nicola Cornick
post image
Mehso-so

Okay have to admit feeling a little bit disappointed in this book, after having read her excellent House of Shadows. This one just didn‘t seem to have the same depth and not really sure I can say it really had any redeeming characters. I actually struggle to think it was written by the same author. I will continue with her books but hope the next one gets back to the quality of the previous book.

EadieB @Andrew65 That‘s bad news! 6mo
Melissa_J That‘s exactly how I felt about the book, Andrew. 6mo
Andrew65 @Melissa_J Great minds 👍 6mo
See All 6 Comments
Andrew65 @EadieB Yes very disappointing. 6mo
Crazeedi Thanks for review!! 6mo
Andrew65 @Crazeedi Just sorry it wasn‘t a better one! 😔 6mo
75 likes6 comments
blurb
Andrew65
The Woman in the Lake | Nicola Cornick
post image

Started listening to this book today as my commute book. Read her book The House of Shadows last month and it was one of my favourite reads of the month. This is another timeslip book and I hope it is as good. Yet another of those fashionable covers, but love the colours on this one.

EadieB That‘s the third in the series. I read the other 2! 6mo
Andrew65 @EadieB I‘ve only just noticed tonight they are in a series, and not read the second one. 😱 So unintentionally ROOing. 6mo
Crazeedi A new author to check out! Andrew you're always giving me more books to investigate! 😉❣ 6mo
See All 8 Comments
Andrew65 @Crazeedi That‘s both good and bad. 😂 I heartily recommend the book on this comment, a wonderful story. (edited) 6mo
Crazeedi @Andrew65 I will add to my tbr! 6mo
EadieB @Andrew65 I didn‘t think you knew it was a series. I got the 2nd book from NetGalley so I was ROOing at that time! 6mo
Andrew65 @Crazeedi Hope you enjoy it. 🤗 6mo
Andrew65 @EadieB Spot on! 6mo
60 likes8 comments
review
Melissa_J
The Woman in the Lake | Nicola Cornick
post image
Mehso-so

This book falls between a pick and a so-so rating. The story starts out slow, picks up in the middle, but ends with a whimper rather than a bang. Entertaining enough to keep me interested throughout, but not necessarily one I‘d recommend. ⭐️⭐️⭐️

blurb
Melissa_J
The Woman in the Lake | Nicola Cornick
post image

Sunday morning plans: enjoy my Tim Horton‘s steeped tea and Timbits, and finish this book 😊

Happy Sunday!

emilyhaldi Yummmmm Timbits!!! 😋 8mo
Swe_Eva I don‘t know what a Timbit is, but I want some! 🤤 8mo
Bookish.SAM Lol... Your Canadian is showing 😂 8mo
See All 7 Comments
LeahBergen Mmmm... Timbits. 👏🏻👏🏻 8mo
Melissa_J @Swe_Eva I think they are called donut holes in the U.S. They are just small round donuts in various flavours 😋 8mo
Melissa_J @Bookish.SAM ha ha! It sure it 😊 8mo
Melissa_J @emilyhaldi @LeahBergen they are the best! Well, other than apple fritters. 8mo
63 likes1 stack add7 comments
blurb
Melissa_J
The Woman in the Lake | Nicola Cornick
post image

The final book in the Red Queen series, War Storm, is driving me nuts. It‘s too descriptive and the characters all sound the same. I have to put it aside for another day.

Since I enjoyed Nicola Cornick‘s previous two releases, and time slips are among my favourite types of narratives, I have high hopes this book will quickly capture my attention.

review
DebinHawaii
The Woman in the Lake | Nicola Cornick
post image
Pickpick

I liked the premise of a beautiful yet possibly 'evil' golden dress tying 2 eras (1765 & 2015) & 3 POVs together, but 320 pages wasn't quite enough to develop the characters & dive into the history. Not the best book I've read lately yet still a pick for the idea, creep factor, suspense & historical mystery/Gothic/horror mix. Paired with an Easy Avocado Caprese Salad inspired by one made by a character in the book for my book tour review. Link👇🏻

Texreader Recipe saved! Thanks!!! 9mo
TheBookStacker Omg that salad looks amazing! Saving that recipe! 9mo
77 likes1 stack add3 comments
review
Penny_LiteraryHoarders
The Woman in the Lake | Nicola Cornick
post image
Bailedbailed

Too simplistically written to hold my attention. It was a library borrow so I'm not too worried I'm bailing on it.

hjreviews Was just thinking how much I love libraries for this very reason 9mo
Penny_LiteraryHoarders @hjreviews 👍 absolutely!! They've saved me so much money on impulse purchases! I'm getting better at requesting the library bring in books and audiobooks that catch my eye. 😁❣️ 9mo
33 likes2 comments
blurb
Penny_LiteraryHoarders
The Woman in the Lake | Nicola Cornick
post image

I have 7 days to read this one before I send due back to the library for the others waiting.

review
Luvtoread
The Woman in the Lake | Nicola Cornick
Pickpick

Fast paced and intriguing, but a bit uneven. This is a back-and-forth in time historical fiction / suspense read and I was swept up in the mystery of it all! The two timelines are easy to tell apart, and each have memorable characters - with some you just love to hate! All in all this was a fascinating read that I enjoyed. I voluntarily reviewed an eARC copy provided by the publisher via NetGalley.

blurb
DebinHawaii
The Woman in the Lake | Nicola Cornick
post image

My finished Cream of Watercress Soup (potatoes, onions, watercress & coconut milk instead or cream) served with Hot Pepper Toasts (Sriracha-Tabasco butter 😋) was lunch & is on the blog for #soupersundays.🍲 Pictured with my current read, an #ARC (historical fiction with some mystery) for a book tour review later in the week.

Link to recipe: http://kahakaikitchen.blogspot.com/2019/02/cream-of-watercress-soup-and-hot-pepp...

rather_be_reading oh my yum! 9mo
Susanita I love watercress! 9mo
102 likes1 stack add3 comments