Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The Third Wife
The Third Wife: A Novel | Lisa Jewell
Fans of Liane Moriarty and Jojo Moyes will be captivated by this riveting family drama with a dark mystery at its core, from the New York Times bestselling author of The House We Grew Up In. In the early hours of a summer morning, a young woman steps into the path of an oncoming bus. A tragic accident? Or suicide? At the center of this puzzle is Adrian Wolfe, a successful architect and grief-stricken widower, who, a year after his third wifes death, begins to investigate the cause. As Adrian looks back on their brief but seemingly happy marriage, disturbing secrets begin to surface. The divorces from his two previous wives had been amicable, or so it seemed; his children, all five of them, were resilient as ever, or so he thought. But something, or someone, must have pushed Maya over the edge. Jewells last few novels have been a revelationemotionally sophisticated and complex, says Kirkus Reviews. Like Liane Moriarty, she manages the perfect blend of womens fiction and nail-biting suspense, hails Booklist. The Third Wife is an emotionally intelligent, brilliantly plotted, and beautifully written examination of a very modern family that will keep you gripped to the end (London Daily Mail).
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
Courtneyjo_reads
post image
Pickpick

I really enjoyed listening to this audiobook! 4/5 🌟

quote
fictionaddictbooks
post image

Moving on is something that happens to you, not something you do.

review
sparrowssavvy
post image
Pickpick

I‘ve really come to adore books by Lisa Jewell. And this book was no exception. I could barely put it down. While not a traditional mystery, it had such rich and interesting characters, I was completely suckered. The humanity and complexities within each character and in their relationships with each other was so well done. Also, I just love this cover.

TheLudicReader I am also a big fan of her books. 4mo
sparrowssavvy @theludicreader I just find them so hard to put down! 4mo
sparrowssavvy @theludicreader do you have a favourite? 4mo
TheLudicReader @sparrowssavvy I‘ve liked everything I have read, but my favourite thus far has been 4mo
13 likes4 comments
review
nvhXesq
This post contains spoilers
show me
post image
Pickpick

Some of the twists are quite fun. The ending wrap-up was disappointing. Unlike similar books of this vain, no one actually killed her, or so we‘re told. It‘s still inconclusive if you ask me.

blurb
nvhXesq

Oh, yay! British!

review
Laru79
Pickpick

Finished this one last night. A really interesting family saga. Jewell‘s writing is so readable!

blurb
Laru79
post image

Started on this last night and wolfed down about a third of it. It‘s well written and I know there‘ll be more twists to come but I don‘t know what they are - love it when a book keeps me guessing!

review
BritanyA
post image
Mehso-so

⭐️⭐️⭐️: I‘m slowly working through Lisa Jewell‘s backlist, she‘s quickly becoming a go-to author.

review
Elenamacha
Third Wife | Lisa Jewell
post image
Mehso-so

This was a good one, a great mystery type but i really enjoyed the novel!

blurb
literarilythrilling
post image

Currently listening.

blurb
TheBookAddict
post image

Darn, so I lied on my last post. I forgot I had succumbed to the impulse buy of the #audible #dailydeal. Just $3.95...

#mountTBR just keeps on growing and growing...😔

#audiobooks #booksale #audiobooksale #bookaddiction #bookbuys #impulsebookbuying #2019

review
Andrew65
post image
Pickpick

This was another very good book by Lisa Jewell. At first I wasn‘t that taken with it, as it seemed to take forever setting the scene before it really got going. Once it did get going it didn‘t hold back and played with your emotions and thinking. This is a very well formed story and I felt the revelations at the end of the book were very well written, and the messages in the letters at the end of the book really hit home.

blurb
Andrew65
post image

Starting another Lisa Jewell book. This ones seems to have quite a strange cover.

Kalalalatja Agree about the cover! It will be interesting to see if the cover makes sense after reading the book 🤔 1y
Andrew65 @Kalalalatja Have finished it now, and the cover didn‘t really fit or make any sense! 1y
Kalalalatja That‘s annoying, especially when it is a bit weird to begin with! 1y
Andrew65 @Kalalalatja Very! It wouldn‘t make you pick up the book. 1y
62 likes4 comments
review
crazyspine
post image
Pickpick

I loved this book. It wasn't your traditional thriller, but it kept my interest and the narrator for the audiobook was perfect for the story.

67 likes3 stack adds
review
EadieB
post image
Pickpick

I just finished this family drama with a dark mystery. Adrian Wolfe is an architect who is now a grief stricken widow as his 3rd wife, Maya, was hit by an oncoming bus. His two divorces were amicable and his 5 children seem happy so what is the problem? Read this book in order to find out what really happened to Maya and the real truth about why Adrian had 3 wives and why Adrian wanted them to be one big happy family. Is that really possible?

Andrew65 Hoping to get to this next week. 1y
EadieB @Andrew65 I just downloaded Before I Met You from Hoopla! 1y
Andrew65 @EadieB Read it in 2015 and really enjoyed it. 1y
EadieB @Andrew65 Good to hear! 1y
81 likes4 stack adds5 comments
review
cathysaid
post image
Panpan

Often I want audiobooks that are purely entertaining as I'm usually driving and can't focus on a complicated plot. At the same time I want a bit of crime, mystery, drama or intrigue. I thought I found that in this one...until the last hour. While I can accept an annoying main character or an implausible ending, combining both just pisses me off! 😡 Don't bother with this one if that combo will annoy you as well. 2/5 ⭐️

rubyslippersreads I read this for my IRL book club and felt the same way. (Adrian‘s attitude about cats should have clued me in about what a jerk he was. 😾) 1y
cathysaid @rubyslippersreads Right??? And why kill off the ONE redeeming character? 🙄 1y
49 likes2 stack adds2 comments
review
AnnaDesourdy
Third Wife | Lisa Jewell
post image
Pickpick

Not the best but gave it pick rather than so-so because I related to this book on a ridiculously personal level. As a child of divorce the utter selfishness of cheaters and the way they don't even seem to consider for a second that it'll leave children with lifelong scars is too real.

28 likes3 stack adds
review
ReadingMeagan
Panpan

Well my books read in March have both been stinkers. Hopefully the next one I read is better. I thought there would be a better resolution to the mystery in this book. I kept reading because I thought “this will get juicy” and that never happened.

rubyslippersreads That's exactly what I thought. I expected much more of a thriller. 1y
13 likes1 comment
blurb
guinsgirlreads
post image

Found another one in my library stack TBR.. #novemberbythenumbers

@Tiffy_Reads @JoeStalksBeck

review
Kaye
post image
Mehso-so

Adrian is in marriage #3, and all seems to be well at first. His ex wives all get along and seem to like his new wife. That is, until the negative emails start arriving. They become more threatening. She has no clue who could be sending them. Then a tragedy happens, leaving Adrian to put all the pieces together. I like Lisa Jewell's books, although I don't like romance. There always seems to be another back story going. 3.5 ⭐️

29 likes1 stack add
review
nickimags
post image
Pickpick

I loved this when I read it back in 2014, I think I even pre - ordered it so I'd have it for my holiday in France. Just like the tag line on the front reads 'One man. Three marriages. A tangled web of lies.' It was so twisty and I didn't know who was telling the truth right up until the end. I coukd easily read it again as I loved the way the author created the characters and the world that they lived in, it all felt so real.

quote
mcipher
post image

"He was aware that there would always be the last time for these intimate nuances of his relationships with his children and that often that time would pass unnoticed." #truth This is making me tear up - when did I last give my son a piggyback ride of push him on a swing or read aloud a picture book? All those thousands of times and then suddenly it's just over and you have to move on as they grow up and you don't even realize until too late. ?

blurb
mcipher
post image

I changed my mind in what to read next and I'm liking this so far - I need to go back to Outlander soon and to finish The Girl with All the Gifts, but I needed a break. Ice cream is always better with rainbow sprinkles, don't you think? 🌈

Megabooks 👍🏻👍🏻 3y
saguarosally Rainbow sprinkles are better with ice cream. 😄 3y
46 likes1 stack add2 comments
review
MoreBooksPlease
Pickpick

The Third Wife by Lisa Jewell was a tale of a family, or three, intertwined and scarred. It told of the lives of 3 wives and 5 children...their vacations, happiness, unhappiness and how selfish, and how selfless people can be. I really liked the book,I wish the ending was a bit more satisfying -4⭐️s

review
danirob
post image
Pickpick

Slightly suspenseful, moderately mysterious, but mostly just a story about a family helmed by a dope.

MrBook Nice cover. Nice review. 3y
3 likes1 comment
review
Victoriahoperose
post image
Mehso-so

This book was okay. I didn't love the characters and wasn't thrilled with the way the author tied everything together. I did keep reading because I wanted to know what happened and there were parts where I didn't want to put it down. Not my favorite but not terrible either.

quote
Victoriahoperose
post image

This is perfectly cynical but so good. Love this.

15 likes1 stack add