Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Last House on Needless Street
Last House on Needless Street | Catriona Ward
14 posts | 19 read | 17 to read
An Indie Next Pick!A LibraryReads Top 10 Pick!A Library Journal Editors' Pick! STARRED reviews from Library Journal and Publishers Weekly! The buzz...is real. I've read it and was blown away. It's a true nerve-shredder that keeps its mind-blowing secrets to the very end. --Stephen KingCatriona Ward's The Last House on Needless Street is a shocking and immersive read perfect for fans of Gone Girl and The Haunting of Hill House. "The new face of literary dark fiction."--Sarah Pinborough, New York Times bestselling author of Behind Her Eyes In a boarded-up house on a dead-end street at the edge of the wild Washington woods lives a family of three. A teenage girl who isn't allowed outside, not after last time.A man who drinks alone in front of his TV, trying to ignore the gaps in his memory.And a house cat who loves napping and reading the Bible. An unspeakable secret binds them together, but when a new neighbor moves in next door, what is buried out among the birch trees may come back to haunt them all.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
magyklyXdelish
post image
Pickpick

Wowowowow. Can‘t really say much about this without spoiling it but it‘s really tragic and really creepy. Reminds me of one of my fave movies but I can‘t say which or it gives away a major spoiler. My only complaint is how much it dragged after the climax.

#pantone2022 - popcorn
#BookSpinBingo - free space

TheAromaofBooks Yay!!! 1mo
Clwojick Great match! 1mo
21 likes1 stack add2 comments
review
alecia3dixie
post image
Pickpick

I am shook, seriously did not see that ending coming at all. The first 45% of this book I was like what the fuck am I reading, and a lot of it didn't make sense. Then 60% I was like I should just DNF this.. but that ending.. WHAT!? I'm soo glad I kept reading this one! 5/5

blurb
magyklyXdelish
post image

Damn. This shit is so fucking sad. I‘m only halfway through so I can only imagine how much more tragic it‘s going to get. It‘s always the fucked up parent/child relationships that hit me the hardest, man.

18 likes1 stack add
review
HettyG
post image
Panpan

The first half of this book was really creepy, but it‘s one of those disappointing books that goes downhill after you‘ve already committed enough to it that you have to finish. It‘s a cliched plot with a deeply unsatisfying “twist”. Getting this sort of plot to work is, IMHO, difficult and rare, I can only think of one movie that I sort of liked that had this kind of plot. Poorly done, it comes off as a cheat, and kind of a stupid one.

blurb
HettyG
post image

My weekend audio book, and it is creepy AF so far, y‘all.

“Anyway, the trick to life is if you don‘t like what is happening, go back to sleep until it stops.” - Olivia the cat

I just want to wholly endorse this sentiment 😂

blurb
Ast_Arslan
post image

Mini book haul 🤟🏻
Master Class is a sister's gift ❤

review
ImperfectCJ
post image
Mehso-so

I found this one kind of underwhelming, not nerve-shredding as Stephen King promises in his cover blurb. It employs a trope popular in fiction from the 80s, which feels stale to me (I guess 30+ years isn't long enough to freshen that theme, or maybe this is just what happens in one's fifth reading decade). Sometimes a strong sense of place can save a lackluster novel for me, but this doesn't feel to me like it takes place in the PNW.

ImperfectCJ I hope to have this #lmpbc in the mail to @Bianca by early next week. :-) 5mo
allureofbeauty I love and adore King but sometimes lately I really can‘t trust his blurbs. 5mo
52 likes2 stack adds2 comments
review
DavidDiamond
post image
Pickpick

4.5 stars!
It‘s hard to talk about this story without giving anything away.
I will say my emotions ran the gamut from worried, scared, to what-the-hell just happened. I even audibly gasped at one point!
The blurb by Stephen King says it best:
“A true nerve-shredder that keeps its mind-blowing secrets to the very end.”

36 likes2 stack adds
review
Magpiegem
post image
Pickpick

2/2022 (book club pick) I don‘t want to give any spoilers so I will just say I don‘t agree with Stephen King on this one. I very much saw what was coming. I think I‘ve just read too many mystery thrillers now. It‘s been a long time since one suprised me. But that being said it was a quick read that made me stay up later than I should to finish it. Which is always a good indication of a pretty good book I think.

26 likes3 stack adds
blurb
Magpiegem
post image

My first book of 2022 is my book club book (above). Then my plan is to read one #booked2022, my two #roll100 books and my #authorofthemonth book… so not too many books to get through in Jan! 😬

blurb
AReedCollett
post image

Here is my #Top21of21. As you can see, horror and thrillers are my wheelhouse, but there are a few from other genres that tickled my fancy this year.

review
IamIamIam
post image
Pickpick

🤯 WOWZERS! Ted Bannerman lives alone at the end of Needless Street. He's unreliable, has a hard time remembering names and events, goes away sometimes. A little girl went missing in his past and it's up to Ted, Lauren & Olivia to put the pieces back together.

Thoroughly unsettling, I never really could see around the corner until the very end until it all came together. 😳🤘

34 likes1 stack add
review
JoeMo
post image
Pickpick

This book was a pleasant surprise. I was leery through about 95% of it due to odd occurrences and potential plot holes, but the ending really tied it all together in a pretty satisfying way! The narrator honestly killed it with his performance on the audiobook. How many people could nail the characters of a middle aged man, a young girl, and a cat? I heavily recommend this title for those into slowly building thrillers!

33 likes3 comments