Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The Orphan Queen
The Orphan Queen | Jodi Meadows
An epic fantasy filled with adventure, intrigue, and romance from Incarnate series author Jodi Meadows. This duology is perfect for fans of Graceling by Kristin Cashore, The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson, and Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo.When Princess Wilhelmina was a child, the Indigo Kingdom invaded her homeland. Ten years later, Wil and the other noble children who escaped are ready to fight back and reclaim Wils throne. To do so, Wil and her best friend, Melanie, infiltrate the Indigo Kingdom palace with hopes of gathering information that will help them succeed.But Wil has a secretone that could change everything. Although magic has been illegal for a century, she knows her ability could help her save her kingdom. But magic creates wraith, and the deadly stuff is moving closer and destroying the land. And if the vigilante Black Knife catches her using magic, she may disappear like all the others. . . .
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
jackilynn
The Orphan Queen | Jodi Meadows
post image
Pickpick
review
Book_yogi
The Orphan Queen | Jodi Meadows
post image
Pickpick

This book is a fun fantasy read, filled with magic, wraiths, royalty and romance. Wilhelmina has a secret, creative form of magic and The Black Knife is mysterious; the two make for a good slow burn romance. For readers who enjoyed trilogies like Storm Siren and Ruined this will fit the bill.

review
stacybmartin
The Orphan Queen | Jodi Meadows
post image
Mehso-so

I FINALLY finished this ebook about three months after starting it. The story was actually decent and picked up near the end. I‘m debating whether or not I‘ll continue with the series - maybe I should try something other than ebook?

Gissy Well, it is in my tbr already. 7mo
20 likes1 comment
blurb
stacybmartin
The Orphan Queen | Jodi Meadows
post image

Instead of FINALLY finishing this ebook, I‘ve gotten distracted by my new flowers! Now I just need a wreath. 💚🌸🌱🌺🌿💚

aprilpohren Oh my goodness!! How cozy, warm and welcoming! I adore it!!! 😍 7mo
stacybmartin @aprilpohren thank you so much! Flowers make me happy so I may have gone overboard. 🤣 7mo
Cinfhen Beautiful photo 😍😍😍 7mo
See All 9 Comments
merelybookish So pretty! 7mo
Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks Beautiful!!! 7mo
Julsmarshall Gorgeous! 7mo
Chrissyreadit Beautiful! 7mo
Gissy 😍❤️❤️❤️👌 7mo
46 likes9 comments
blurb
stacybmartin
The Orphan Queen | Jodi Meadows
post image

I‘ve got this one as an ebook loan through my library. I don‘t know why but I have the WORST time getting through ebooks (unless they‘re romance - those I can usually blow through no matter the form). I don‘t know if it‘s because my phone has so many other things that easily distract me or what but it takes me forever to get through them. Anyone else have this problem?

BookHoarder32 I have issues reading ebooks on my phone too. I think mine is more of formatting question - an epub vs pdf. If I have to squint too much it takes me out of the story. I sometimes think of getting some kind of e-reader, but paper books are still my first choice of medium. 😊 7mo
stacybmartin @BookHoarder32 I started listening to a lot of audiobooks on Overdrive (being able to get them through the library was a life changer) because I have a long commute and a job in a lab where I can listen all day sometimes. I wonder if that‘s messed with my attention span?? 🤓 7mo
ShyBookOwl I never read on my phone. It feels wrong. But I LOVE my kindle. 7mo
28 likes1 stack add3 comments
review
Shley9225
The Orphan Queen | Jodi Meadows
Pickpick

I loved this book so much more than I thought I would. While parts of the plot were kind of predictable or cliche, I thought the execution was still really good and I thoroughly enjoyed reading it. Exiled princesses, spy antics, mysterious vigilantes, and forgery. My favourite Jodi Meadows series I‘ve read so far.

blurb
Nerdy_Bookworm
The Orphan Queen | Jodi Meadows
post image

Reading this on top of the Vampire Chronicles

blurb
humouress
The Orphan Queen | Jodi Meadows

I‘m thinking that ‘wraith‘ is Meadows‘ take on pollution and the profligate use of magic comparable to wasting energy.
I like the way the girls as well as boys do the ‘superhero work ‘.

humouress It‘s happening again. I don‘t often read more than one book at a time but when I do, they often seem to have similar premises. ‘Orphan Queen‘ and ‘First Betrayal‘ are both from the POV of folks trying to raise a rebellion against (perceived) usurpers. 2y
1 stack add1 comment
blurb
humouress
The Orphan Queen | Jodi Meadows
post image

Reading ‘The Orphan Queen‘. Clearly C21st YA, but fun.

blurb
ScorpioBookDreams
The Orphan Queen | Jodi Meadows
post image

Did a trade for this book as it sounded great! #bookmail

56 likes2 stack adds
review
Megaled
The Orphan Queen | Jodi Meadows
post image
Pickpick

YA fantasy that I've had since December and finally read! I liked it, but I've seen some criticism on Goodreads etc for it being kind of blah. Well, ok nothing about the characters and plot twists surprised me. I knew who the vigilante that Wil keeps meeting was from page one- or the synopsis on the back tbh. But I enjoyed it. Yes, it could have been tighter in places-esp when she goes into the wraith land- but overall solid and enjoyable escape.

review
kaylawhata
The Orphan Queen | Jodi Meadows
post image
Pickpick

So glad I finally read this! Cannot wait to dive into the novellas and Mirror King. Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

blurb
The_Heeler_Booklife
The Orphan Queen | Jodi Meadows
post image

Some books got cut off, but got a haul from Thriftbooks yesterday. I accidentally hurt two books taking a sticker off the spine. 😢 Can't wait to dive into these books. #bookhaul #usedbooks #ya #youngadult #yabooks #youngadultbooks #bookworm #graceling #theorphanqueen #thequeenofthetearling #graceling #thefalseprince #enclave #cityofember #legacyofkings #thewhitequeen #angelfall #endersgame #thethief #eon

Bookish.Taylor You should let me know when you start Eon and we can buddy read it! 2y
The_Heeler_Booklife @Bookish.Taylor that sounds great and I'll totally let you know! 😊 It probably will be sometime next month. 2y
Bookish.Taylor @allthingskayla Okay! I can't wait! :D 2y
See All 7 Comments
The_Heeler_Booklife @Bookish.Taylor are you still wanting to do a buddy read for Eon? If so I was thinking of starting it this weekend. 2y
Bookish.Taylor @allthingskayla I would love to! It'll be tight but I'll give it a shot! 2y
The_Heeler_Booklife @Bookish.Taylor I never done a buddy read before, so I'm willing to try. Is there a day that would be best for you to start the book? 😊 2y
11 likes7 comments
blurb
illicitsighs
The Orphan Queen | Jodi Meadows
post image

I still have to read these books, I plan on starting them next month. These are ones I impulsively ordered together because they sounded really good :)

#theorphanqueen #themirrorking #jodimeadows #tbr

quote
decorating.reader
The Orphan Queen | Jodi Meadows
post image

“You're so optimistic. It's not what I expected from a vigilante who calls himself Black Knife."
"Well, I considered Optimistic Knife, but I didn't think anyone would take it seriously.”
.
This is one of my faves!! Have you read it?
.
#mapmonday #openbook #theorphanqueen #themirrorking #jodimeadows #flatlay #booksandflowers #booksandcandles #maps #fantasy #youngadult

Grownwomanreadya But is there romance 😏 2y
Grownwomanreadya @Bookiemoji OH MY GAHHH Sign me up 🙌🏻 2y
See All 19 Comments
Adalanasimaginaryworld Never heard of it. Sounds great! 2y
NotthePathtoNarnia That looks gorgeous! 2y
DawnCourt I haven't, but it looks interesting! Definitely added to my TBR! 2y
Christina.termini Yeeees!! I absolutely love this book!! 2y
booknerdkatie I have looked at it, but never picked it up. Maybe I'll add it to my list! With an awesome quote like that, I think I should... 😂😂 2y
Utopiyll This book looks so pretty! I have to buy it!! 😍 2y
realitysabore It's on my tbr! 2y
MyFriendsAreFiction I love this picture 2y
decorating.reader @Christina.termini I hope you have her newest on your tbr also! 2y
decorating.reader @booknerdkatie you definitely should! It's a really great duology! 2y
decorating.reader Let me know if you do and what you think!! @Utopiyll 2y
Christina.termini @Bookiemoji I do! I just got it in the mail on Monday, so it'll be next on my tbr! 2y
decorating.reader I got mine in also @Christina.termini 2y
114 likes22 stack adds19 comments
review
coastalreader
The Orphan Queen | Jodi Meadows
post image
Pickpick

I was 1/4 ways into this book before I was vested. I'm so glad I stuck with it. Real life has been difficult lately and this story provided me with the perfect amount of mystery, magic and romance to allow for my escape. I cannot wait to get my hands on the next book.

Cinfhen That's the beauty of a good book, allowing you to "escape" ? 3y
MarriedtoMrT I LOVED this one. Second in the duology is strong but I liked this one the best. 3y
17 likes1 stack add2 comments
review
dani_reviews
The Orphan Queen | Jodi Meadows
Pickpick

This book was so good! Kickass warrior princess, awesome world-building, interesting magic, swoonworthy chemistry... Yeah, there were confusing bits here and there, and I guessed one of the twists almost from the beginning, but it was ultimately fantastic. Just that cliffhanger though... O_O

quote
dani_reviews
The Orphan Queen | Jodi Meadows

"It wouldn't be a ball if someone didn't take it upon themselves to be wildly inappropriate."

blurb
bmsddk
The Orphan Queen | Jodi Meadows
post image

The wraith from this duology got under my skin 😱 (play of words intended 😉) ~ #Day30 #CreepyCrawlies #octphotochallenge #bookphotochallenge ~ @LibrarianRyan

LibrarianRyan I so want to read this. 3y
bmsddk @LibrarianRyan It's a great read! The cliffhanger is brutal, so is recommend making sure you have the sequel easily accessible afterwards 😁 The short stories are so good, too. 3y
40 likes2 stack adds2 comments
blurb
Fiaryeyes
The Orphan Queen | Jodi Meadows
post image

This is the book I am starting today. #trumannominee

review
PurpleAbby
The Orphan Queen | Jodi Meadows
Pickpick

LOVED THIS WHOLE BOOK HAD ME ON THE EDGE OF MY SEAT!

review
Graciebella
The Orphan Queen | Jodi Meadows
post image
Pickpick

I quite enjoyed this one. Parts of it was predictable but overall it was a great read.

Kalystia Pretty cover, too. 4y
Graciebella @Kalystia I know right?! 4y
1 like2 comments