Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The Lost Letter
The Lost Letter: A Novel | Jillian Cantor
A heart-breaking, heart-warming historical novel of love and survival inspired by real resistance workers during World War II Austria, and the mysterious love letter that connects generations of Jewish families. For readers of The Nightingale, Lilac Girls, and Sarah's Key. Austria, 1938. Kristoff is a young apprentice to a master Jewish stamp engraver. When his teacher disappears during Kristallnacht, Kristoff is forced to engrave stamps for the Germans, and simultaneously works alongside Elena, his beloved teacher's fiery daughter, and with the Austrian resistance to send underground messages and forge papers. As he falls for Elena amidst the brutal chaos of war, Kristoff must find a way to save her, and himself. Los Angeles, 1989. Katie Nelson is going through a divorce and while cleaning out her house and life in the aftermath, she comes across the stamp collection of her father, who recently went into a nursing home. When an appraiser, Benjamin, discovers an unusual World War II-era Austrian stamp placed on an old love letter as he goes through her dad's collection, Katie and Benjamin are sent on a journey together that will uncover a story of passion and tragedy spanning decades and continents, behind the just fallen Berlin Wall. A beautiful, poignant and devastating novel, The Lost Letter shows the lasting power of love.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
blurb
Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks
The Lost Letter: A Novel | Jillian Cantor
post image

I came home from a very busy day to this wonderful birthday surprise!!! Thank you Harper!! I LOVE my Prince pop funko!! Can‘t wait to display him 💜💜 and can‘t wait to read these books!! Thank you sooo much 💞🥰😘📚

kspenmoll So sorry to miss your birthday! 😩 thanks for all the love you give every day.🎂🎉🎈🎊💕 1mo
Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks @kspenmoll no worries!!!! Thank you so much!! 💗😘💗😘 1mo
CoffeeNBooks Happy Birthday! 🎂 1mo
Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks @CoffeeNBooks thank you!!! 💗😘 1mo
AmyG 💕 1mo
69 likes5 comments
review
SassyBookworm
The Lost Letter: A Novel | Jillian Cantor
post image
Pickpick

I loved this novel! For the last 1/2 I couldn‘t put it down! I had to know what happened! Beautiful story that switched between Austria 1938-39 and Los Angles 1989-91. I‘ve never read a book about a stamp maker before so this was definitely a new perspective on someone who was effected by WWII. I loved how these seemingly different stories beautifully came together! 5 stars 🌟 🌟🌟🌟🌟

#SassyBookworm😏 #TheLostLetter #HistoricalFiction #Libby

Freespirit On my TBR list! 2mo
SassyBookworm @Freespirit awesome!!! 2mo
78 likes3 stack adds2 comments
review
megnews
Lost Letter | Jillian Cantor
post image
Pickpick

I preferred the Austria 1939 storyline to the 1989, although it was an interesting addition with the Berlin Wall coming down. It all wrapped up unbelievably. Still I‘d give this 3.5 stars.

Book 261/265 9/20/19

I hope I didn‘t miss tagging anyone for #20booksby2020. Anyone else have an update on their progress?

suzie.reads I've read 16 of my 20 books 😲 3mo
MelissaSue81 I just posted an update on mine, I've read 12 and am working on 13 currently.

How did you like My Grandmother Asked me To Tell You she's Sorry? I want to reread that one soon.
3mo
megnews @suzie.reads awesome progress! 3mo
See All 10 Comments
megnews @MelissaSue81 I loved that one! I definitely want to read more of his. 3mo
KarenUK 😊👍💕 3mo
Cinfhen Wowza @suzie.reads 🙌🏻 3mo
suzie.reads @Cinfhen I've read 17 now and currently reading number 18 lol 3mo
Cinfhen Oh God @suzie.reads in 24 hours!!!! That‘s impressive 🤩 3mo
suzie.reads @Cinfhen haha no I have been reading book 17 since Tuesday and only just started book 18. 3mo
Cinfhen Oh good, @suzie.reads I feel less like a slacker now 😜 3mo
35 likes10 comments
review
Wife
The Lost Letter: A Novel | Jillian Cantor
post image
Pickpick

After my last NF read, I needed a return to my favorite genre-Historical Fiction. A quick read with likable characters. A couple gentle love story lines. A swap gift from @Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks Thanks Misty!❤️ 3/5💌s

Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks ❤️❤️❤️ I was just thinking about you earlier!! I hope you are doing great! I‘ve got to write you 💌📬 3mo
Clare-Dragonfly I love that basket! 3mo
Wife @Clare-Dragonfly Thanks 🌹 3mo
Wife @Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks I‘m doing well. I‘ve got to write to you too!🌹 3mo
megnews I‘m enjoying this one right now too. 3mo
51 likes1 stack add5 comments
blurb
megnews
Lost Letter | Jillian Cantor
post image

Historical fiction of a found item, the letter, taking the reader on a journey through generations connected by the letter, sounds right up my alley. Inspired by a true story of Austrian resistance workers, this is another novel set in #WWII recently added to my tbr.

#lovelost #jazzyjune

Crazeedi This book has been put on my list now.... 6mo
Freespirit This sounds really good! 6mo
Eggs Beautiful! This has been on my TBR for a while 6mo
29 likes3 stack adds3 comments
blurb
Wife
The Lost Letter: A Novel | Jillian Cantor
post image

These books !!!! ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️and some of my favorite chocolates! I may be playing tug-of-war for the little dog when my grandson spies it. Super-size mug for my tea ☕️. Cool note pads and bookmark 🔖 are always handy to have. Thank you so much Misty for your thoughtfulness, friendship, and these lovely gifts 💝

BTW, I signed up for round 005 of #LMPBC today, and am so anxious to read these books that I‘m going to propose them to my group.

Kaye 💖 10mo
megansaurusrex That mug is everything! 10mo
LeahBergen That mug is wonderful! 😍 10mo
Wife @megansaurusrex @LeahBergen I know! And it looks just like me❤️😉☕️ 10mo
Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks You‘re very welcome!!! I hope y‘all choose The Velvet Hours!!! 💗 let me know about the others!! 10mo
81 likes5 comments
review
DarcysMom
The Lost Letter: A Novel | Jillian Cantor
post image
Mehso-so
66 likes1 stack add
blurb
DarcysMom
The Lost Letter: A Novel | Jillian Cantor
post image
BookBabe Hi! What sneakers do you wear for these epic walks? 😊 I used to do lots of nice longish (not compared to yours!) walks around my neighborhood, but we just moved and I‘m looking to get back into it again. 🏃🏻‍♀️ (edited) 11mo
DarcysMom I wear Salomon trail running shoes. I would suggest to g on several pairs of walking/ running shoes to see what works best for you. As my amount of walking increased, I discovered that I needed to chang to the Salomon's. My old brand wasn't supporting my feet the way I needed. 11mo
DarcysMom @BookBabe Oops! I forgot to tag you. 🙃 11mo
66 likes3 comments
blurb
DarcysMom
The Lost Letter: A Novel | Jillian Cantor
post image
69 likes1 stack add
review
Arvena
The Lost Letter: A Novel | Jillian Cantor
post image
Pickpick

A tender and good story with rich historical context. Maybe there were too much of all the unbelievable consequences scattered around the plot. I found the story to be a little predictable.
The history of stamp engraving and how it played an important role during the war is something I was not familiar with until I read this book.
The ending provides readers with appropriate closure.

blurb
theladygreer
The Lost Letter: A Novel | Jillian Cantor
post image

Neglected to post today's interview first thing this morning & the day almost slipped away! Read today's post for an update on my #womenshistoryreads project & an interview with the fabulous @JillianCantor . Greermacallister.com/blog #womenshistorymonth #litsyauthor

Louise That was an interesting interview. I loved the part about her grandma recalling things as if they had happened yesterday! 2y
TNbookworm @theladygreer Thank you so much for doing this! I am loving all the interviews and getting so many great book recommendations! Very happy to hear you have extended past the end of March☺ 2y
25 likes2 stack adds2 comments
blurb
Purplerosiepage
The Lost Letter: A Novel | Jillian Cantor
post image

Two things- 1.) Jillian Cantor is a local author, and I used to work with her husband. This is riding the coattails of The Nightingale, but I like it quite a bit. 2.) I am so glad Scribd is back to being unlimited. Audiobooks make me happy.

review
Itchyfeetreader
Lost Letter | Jillian Cantor
post image
Pickpick

A gentle historical fiction split between Austria during the Anschluss and 1989 California. Modern day Kate is propelled into a search after finding an unusual stamp and letter amongst her fathers things.

37 likes3 stack adds
blurb
WorldsOkayestStepMom
The Lost Letter: A Novel | Jillian Cantor
post image

Spent some time today at the Friends of the Metropolitan Library annual book sale! Walked away with 4 books for me, a $3 box of random books (grab-bag style), and my husband picked out a good 20 for himself. They also had some music CDs, so I got a couple new ones of those too! #OklahomaCity #bookhaul

StillLookingForCarmenSanDiego Nice Haul! ... PS have I mentioned now much I love you handle? 😂😹👌 2y
WorldsOkayestStepMom @StillLookingForCarmenSanDiego 😂😂😂 thank you!! I wasn't sure it was going to work on multiple platforms, but so far I haven't run into any problems with other people using it. 2y
44 likes2 comments
blurb
readingallthetime
The Lost Letter: A Novel | Jillian Cantor
post image

I loved this audio book. I‘ve read her novel Margot and picked up The Hours Count from the library.

2 likes1 stack add
blurb
Librarylady
The Lost Letter: A Novel | Jillian Cantor
post image

It's our first teacher professional development day today. Do you think anyone will notice if I read The Lost Letter during the afternoon meetings? I'm totally sucked in.

review
KarinWestbrook
The Lost Letter: A Novel | Jillian Cantor
Pickpick

Great way to work in the garden; listen to a book. This was a lovely read, rich, likable characters, a romance, across generations. Nice, easy, summer read!

blurb
bookishkris
The Lost Letter: A Novel | Jillian Cantor
post image

Really? This is a pretty significant historical error. There was no East Germany before the war. Disappointing that nobody picked up on it in editing.

Sace That's...disheartening. 2y
Hollie These kinds of errors drive me crazy. Maybe she meant eastern Germany, but regardless, that should have been caught! 2y
ReadingEnvy 🤐 2y
minkyb Yikes. 2y
39 likes1 stack add4 comments
blurb
Jensol77
The Lost Letter: A Novel | Jillian Cantor
post image

1. Iced Tea
2. I love a good cover
3. Beach, not too hot though
4. Realistic
5. I'm not into classics. My favorite love story is Robert & Francesca BOMC
@Kalalalatja #bookishwouldyourather

Kalalalatja 👏👏 2y
9 likes1 comment
blurb
MrBook
The Lost Letter: A Novel | Jillian Cantor
post image

#TBRtemptation post 2! Released last month. For fans of "The Nightingale". Kristoff works for a stamp engraver who disappears during Kristallnacht. He's forced to engrave stamps for the Nazis, & works alongside the fiery Elena with the resistance. Los Angeles, 1989, Katie finds her father's unique stamp collection. Appraiser Ben finds one on an old love letter that leads them on a journey to Austria for answers. #blameLitsy #blameMrBook ?

Jensol77 The relationship between Benjamin & Katie was cool. I'm glad it took them awhile to get there though. They both deserved to be happy. 2y
66 likes15 stack adds1 comment
review
Kimlayman7
The Lost Letter: A Novel | Jillian Cantor
post image
Pickpick

Really enjoyed this #eArc ! I love historical fiction, dual storylines, and a good love story, so this was perfect. A quick, easy read.

29 likes2 stack adds
review
Landagail
Lost Letter | Jillian Cantor
Pickpick

I loved this book as I do everything she writes rich in detail and very character and plot driven . It is during WWII and right after and is rich in historical detail ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️