Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The Tenth Girl
The Tenth Girl | Sara Faring
17 posts | 9 read | 3 reading | 36 to read
Simmering in Patagonian myth, The Tenth Girl is a gothic psychological thriller with a haunting twist. At the very southern tip of South America looms an isolated finishing school. Legend has it that the land will curse those who settle there. But for Mavia bold Buenos Aires native fleeing the military regime that took her motherit offers an escape to a new life as a young teacher to Argentinas elite girls. Mavi tries to embrace the strangeness of the imposing housedespite warnings not to roam at night, threats from an enigmatic young man, and rumors of mysterious Others. But one of Mavis ten students is missing, and when students and teachers alike begin to behave as if possessed, the forces haunting this unholy cliff will no longer be ignored. One of these spirits holds a secret that could unravel Mavi's existence. In order to survive she must solve a cosmic mysteryand then fight for her life. An Imprint Book
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
cleoh
The Tenth Girl | Sara Faring
post image
Pickpick

Okay, wow, I don‘t even know where to begin with this book. This is perfect for fans of Miss Peregrine‘s Home for Peculiar Children and Ready Player One (I know, weird combo, but trust me), and the best way to read it is without knowing anything going in. I really enjoyed this, but Goodreads helped me see some issues I hadn‘t thought of before. Definitely on the older side of YA, and it needs some content warnings. Read with care.

jmtrivera Would you say it's scary? I can't do horror at ALL, but our book club will be reading it. I'm worried I won't be able to handle it. 1w
cleoh @jmtrivera I found it more unsettling than downright scary and I don‘t know what else I can say without spoilers. I think the world building relies on setting an uncomfortable/unsettling tone, but once the story picks up and is less focused on the world, I didn‘t find it scary at all. Does that make sense? I don‘t want to give anything away 😂 1w
jmtrivera @cleoh That does make sense. How long does it take for it to pick up and be less scary? 1w
See All 6 Comments
cleoh @jmtrivera I listened to the audiobook so I couldn‘t tell you for certain, but 100 pages? Maybe less? It‘s about 450 pages total 1w
batsy I was interested in this and I'm glad to see a positive review :) The ratings aren't so hot on Litsy. 1w
cleoh @batsy I noticed that too! Same with Goodreads. I think it‘s either a book you love or a book you hate! 1w
61 likes3 stack adds6 comments
blurb
cleoh
The Tenth Girl | Sara Faring
post image

• chocolate
• yes, love them! I started listening to them more this year because I have a long commute to and from campus. Currently listening to the tagged book, with Carry On, Shatter Me, Swipe Right for Murder, and Tristan Strong Punches A Hole in The Sky on the docket!
• parts of it! I like the build up to the holidays, but it‘s also a very busy time in uni
• not enough 😉
• purple!

#friyayintro @howjessreads

review
Bookzombie
The Tenth Girl | Sara Faring
post image
Mehso-so

I‘m kind of between so-so and pan for this one. The book starts off great and I think Faring writes really well. The setting of a creepy boarding school isolated at the tip of Argentina is perfect. Mavi is on the run and takes the job as English teacher. It‘s really hard to talk about the plot without spoilers. The story is gothic and creepy, and then the twist(?) or big reveal(?) happens and I almost quit. I was confused, but plugged on. ⬇️

Bookzombie I‘m not completely sure I got it all. Maybe I read it too fast. 🤷🏼‍♀️ In the end, I wanted my 458 pages of time back. #screamathon 2w
49 likes1 comment
review
SoManyBooksNotEnoughTime
The Tenth Girl | Sara Faring
post image
Mehso-so

Undoubtedly, an intriguing book. I definitely haven't read anything else like it. There's a certain genius to it, but it's confusing as it doesn't fit into the box of any genre. This creepy story will probably reverberate around my head for awhile. I thought I had a pretty good handle on it & then around the last hundred pages it took a crazy, unexpected turn. You'll just have to read it yourself to find out what I mean.

59 likes5 stack adds
blurb
BillBlume
The Tenth Girl | Sara Faring
post image

So, this is a very weird book. It‘s essentially two books in one (so far). The first storyline tracks a young woman in 1978 on the run from people who want to kill her and posing as a teacher in a remote and exclusive school in the southernmost portion of South America. The second storyline is a ghost from the present who has been sent back to 1978 to haunt that same school. I like the former storyline, not sold on the second one yet.

20 likes1 stack add
blurb
BillBlume
The Tenth Girl | Sara Faring
post image

After much internal debate, I‘m going to crack into Sara Faring‘s The Tenth Girl. It has a really weird vibe to it, so my curiosity is getting the better of me.

20 likes1 stack add
blurb
Bookzombie
The Tenth Girl | Sara Faring
post image

I just picked up a few holds at the library. I‘m adding the tagged book to my #TBR for #Screamathon even though Litsy has mixed reviews.

review
Lovesbooks87
The Tenth Girl | Sara Faring
post image
Bailedbailed

I tired. I read almost 300 pages of this book and the more I read the more I just don't care about it. I hate bailing on books but there is just too many books out there to read something you just don't like!

Nute Hate to bail when the cover art is so cool!😣 1mo
TorieStorieS Aw man- sorry to hear this one wasn‘t good! It looked so promising!!! 1mo
41 likes2 comments
review
Book_yogi
The Tenth Girl | Sara Faring
post image
Pickpick

This is a solid book to read for Halloween month. Mavi and Angel are interesting and complex and I did not see that plot twist coming!

Just a note on the YA rating. There is a lot of pretty intense violence and cruelty and profanity that needs to be considered when offering this book as YA. The writing also suggests an older reader as well. Perhaps New Adult would be better.

blurb
Lovesbooks87
The Tenth Girl | Sara Faring
post image

When you are trying to read but someone is demanding some attention this morning! 💜📚🐱💜📚🐱

kspenmoll 😻😻 1mo
JoScho 😹😹😹 1mo
66 likes2 comments
review
AshleyKorinE
The Tenth Girl | Sara Faring
post image
Panpan

It‘s October! It‘s spooky book season! And this ain‘t it! I want ghost, I want monsters, I want horror and weird, and I thought the synopsis said it had all that but it was wrong! Instead it had a weird twist that I hated. By page 300 I was skimming the dialogue till the last 2 chapters because I no longer cared, I couldn‘t stay invested. The nature of this book will make it very polarizing, you either love it or hate it and sadly I hated it.

review
coffeeandwashitape
The Tenth Girl | Sara Faring
post image
Pickpick

I adored this book. Twisty, gothic, spooky, well paced. I was fully immersed in Patagonia, the Vaccaro School, and in Mavi and Angel‘s lives. ✨

blurb
KimmyM
The Tenth Girl | Sara Faring
post image

I'm really looking forward to this book, so I was excited to receive an #arc from Raincoast Books.
I love spooky, creepy books, especially this time of year!
#ya #yalit #yalove

16 likes1 stack add
blurb
LibrarianRyan
The Tenth Girl | Sara Faring
post image

I have been seeing this book for months, and I am glad it's ready to come out. A haunted school in an old castle/manor...yes please.

September 24 , 2019

#CoverLove
#YAedition

allureofbeauty I really want to read this too 2mo
batsy This is on my radar, too. Sounds promising! 2mo
JazzFeathers Oh my! Concept and cover are so unique. 2mo
Avanders I am so here for this... 2mo
45 likes6 stack adds4 comments
review
Book_Fairy_Mary
The Tenth Girl | Sara Faring
post image
Panpan

I selected the ARC from Netgalley bc the description was simply fascinating! Girls at an isolated school where all is not as it seems + creepy folklore should've been a win, but it just failed for me. This is the kind of story where the plot is turned on its head after you've read 80% of the novel &, sadly, the big surprise is just a confusing dud. Pass. Pass. Pass.

blurb
Book_Fairy_Mary
The Tenth Girl | Sara Faring
post image

What I'm reading now 📖👀

blurb
Lisas.Library
The Tenth Girl | Sara Faring
post image

This novel follows a young woman fleeing the country‘s 1970s Dirty War who joins the staff of a notorious haunted boarding school on a remote icy cliff in Patagonia. She befriends a strange young man with a terrible secret as shadowy figures roam the halls at night and the students fall ill to a mysterious illness.

Release date 9/24/2019

Avanders What the what. Stack added. 6mo
JanuarieTimewalker13 Hahahaha! @Avanders !!! It does sound good! 6mo
Lisas.Library @Avanders ~ 😂 You took the words right out of my mouth!! 6mo
tjwill This sounds amazing. And that cover! 😍 5mo
88 likes11 stack adds5 comments