Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The Unlikely Escape of Uriah Heep
The Unlikely Escape of Uriah Heep | H. G. Parry
17 posts | 7 read | 2 reading | 13 to read
The ultimate book-lover's fantasy, featuring a young scholar with the power to bring literary characters into the world, for fans of The Magicians, Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore, and The Invisible Library. For his entire life, Charley Sutherland has concealed a magical ability he can't quite control: he can bring characters from books into the real world. His older brother, Rob -- a young lawyer with a normal house, a normal fiancee, and an utterly normal life -- hopes that this strange family secret will disappear with disuse, and he will be discharged from his life's duty of protecting Charley and the real world from each other. But then, literary characters start causing trouble in their city, making threats about destroying the world... and for once, it isn't Charley's doing. There's someone else who shares his powers. It's up to Charley and a reluctant Rob to stop them, before these characters tear apart the fabric of reality.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
PedanticPastorMartha
Pickpick

Highly enjoyable! What might happen if fictional characters could be “read” into life? We all have our own versions of those characters—some positive, some not so. How would the characters feel about being alive? What if one of them wanted to take over the world?

review
JSW
Pickpick

Imaginative, clever, fun, but way too dialogue-y. Characters a bit shallowly drawn. But a good read.

quote
JSW
post image

I‘m busy. There are a lot of books to read.

blurb
mcipher
post image

Picture from a walk earlier this week - the leaves are getting way prettier now. Still reading and enjoying the tagged book but life has been continuing to feel super hard and I‘m not finishing books really (except the last Paper Girls on my phone). But my phone informs me that my steps are up from last week, overall up from last year at this time, and if I can just stop crying randomly... 😕 I think I need a vacation.

CallMeIshmael Just keep moving 4w
AmyG Sending a hug. Hope things get easier for you. 4w
QuietlyLaura Hugs. 💕💕💕 4w
mcipher @Callmeishamael Good advice! 4w
mcipher @AmyG @QuietlyLaura Thanks guys. It ebbs and flows but it helps to share it even though it feels embarrassing 😬 4w
55 likes5 comments
blurb
mcipher
post image

Reading this with Edie (and really enjoying it despite never having read any Dickens!) It‘s been a weird weekend after a rough week so I made beef stew and oatmeal bread for dinner (comfort food) and took it really easy today. The cats approve of turning the heat on so early in the season, too!!

shellleigh33 Hope you are having a better week 😘🤗 1mo
mcipher @shellleigh33 Thanks my friend! I‘m trying my best 😉 Hope you‘re well and enjoying wedding planning!! 1mo
brit91 😻😻😻😻😻 1mo
53 likes1 stack add3 comments
review
Jas16
post image
Pickpick

Rob‘s younger brother is able to read things out of books and into the real world. It is startling enough when it is a paperweight but when the Cat in the Hat is suddenly in your house it is even more alarming. When the two discover that there are characters in the world that Charles did not read out, they know something is amiss. This book was an absolute delight full of adventure, the love of literature, and a world with more than one Darcy.

JSW This is in my TBR and I can‘t wait! 2mo
Jas16 @JSW I hope you like it as much as I did! 2mo
mcipher This sounds awesome!! 2mo
See All 6 Comments
Mimi28 Thanks to your review this is waiting at the library for me now! Thanks!! You‘re awesome!! I hope you are doing well. I need to start writing you guys again ❤️❤️ 1mo
Jas16 @Mimi28 I can‘t wait to hear what you think of it! 1mo
charl08 I like the sound of this, will have a look for this. 1mo
57 likes9 stack adds6 comments
blurb
jackilynn
post image

August wrap up (I also got about 70% through Fleishman is in Trouble & 40% through the Fiery Cross).

Favorites: the Unlikely Escape of Uriah Heep & Stay Sexy and Dont Get Murdered.

Least favorites: The Gone Dead & The Restaurant at the End of the Universe

review
SW-T
post image
Pickpick

An absolute delight from start to finish! A fun, satisfying read 🥰

If you like any of these things, you‘ll probably like this book: Charles Dickens, Sherlock Holmes, books about books, books where the characters in books are real, well crafted fiction, original plot, great pacing, interesting characters, plots with lots of twists and turns, family tension, humor, literary criticism critique, adventure, allusions, Dorian Gray, and more!

blurb
Morinen
post image

Hello, new followers! I'm sure a lot of you follow tons of people and haven't noticed, but I dont post frequently, and on top of that I've been having some trouble sticking to anything lately. In fact, I've only finished two prose books since 24 in 48. But you can see here what I'm reading now, and hopefully I'll finish it.

blurb
SW-T
post image

Every time you open a book, a little magic falls out.

#justbecause

blurb
AmyM43
post image

A wonderful book about books! See full review at Vampire Book Club blog http://vampirebookclub.net/review-the-unlikely-escape-of-uriah-heep-by-h-g-parry...

#fantasy

1 stack add
review
jackilynn
post image
Pickpick
quote
jackilynn
post image

Oh....chills!!!

blurb
jackilynn
post image

I guess I won't be getting up to get more coffee anytime soon 🤔😜🐱📖☕

Mynameisacolour 😻😻😻 What beauties! 4mo
GrilledCheeseSamurai 🖤😻🖤 4mo
jackilynn @Mynameisacolour they can be so cute sometimes. Other times I swear I want to strangle them (especially the one with his head up). The joy of having cats lol 4mo
16 likes3 comments
quote
jackilynn
post image

I want to go to tea with Mr. Tumnus!!

blurb
jackilynn
post image

Ok so I went from a book with a character named Charlie who has powers (Firestarter) to another book with a character named Charley who has powers. 🤔🤔

Shley9225 Haha 😆 4mo
rretzler 😻 4mo
15 likes2 comments
blurb
The.Intentional.Reader
post image

Winner, Winner, chicken dinner!! This book looks really good. So glad I won (I never win). Thank you to Goodreads, the author and the publisher. Looking forward to starting this as soon as I'm done with my current book.