Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Woman, Eating
Woman, Eating | Claire Kohda
14 posts | 15 read | 21 to read
"Absolutely brilliant--tragic, funny, eccentric, and so perfectly suited to this particularly weird time we seem to be living through. Claire takes the vampire trope and makes it her own in a way that feels so fresh and original. The spell this novels casts is so complete I feel utterly, and happily, bitten."--Ruth Ozeki author of A Tale for the Time Being A biracial half-human, half-vampire must find a way to balance her mixed heritage, her bottomless hunger, and her life in this stunning debut novel from a writer-to-watch. Lydia is hungry. She's always wanted to try Japanese food. Sashimi, ramen, onigiri with sour plum stuffed inside - the food her Japanese father liked to eat. And then there is bubble tea and iced-coffee, ice cream and cake, and foraged herbs and plants, and the vegetables grown by the other young artists at the London studio space she is secretly squatting in. But, Lydia can't eat any of these things. Her body doesn't work like those of other people. The only thing she can digest is blood, and it turns out that sourcing fresh pigs' blood in London--where she is living away from her vampire mother for the first time - is much more difficult than she'd anticipated. Then there are the humans--the other artists at the studio space, the people at the gallery she interns at, the strange men that follow her after dark, and Ben, a boyish, goofy-grinned artist she is developing feelings for. Lydia knows that they are her natural prey, but she can't bring herself to feed on them. In her windowless studio, where she paints and studies the work of other artists, binge-watches Buffy the Vampire Slayer and videos of people eating food on YouTube and Instagram, Lydia considers her place in the world. She has many of the things humans wish for--perpetual youth, near-invulnerability, immortality--but, she is miserable; she is lonely; and she is hungry--always hungry. As Lydia develops as a woman and an artist, she will learn that she must reconcile the conflicts within her--between her demon and human sides, her mixed ethnic heritage, and her relationship with food, and, in turn, humans if she is to find a way to exist in the world. Before any of this, however, she must eat.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
KarenUK
Woman, Eating | Claire Kohda
post image
Pickpick

“People, aging and mortal, are like flowers, seasonal, wilting and finite; while I'm like a tree.”
Quiet and melancholy, a vampire story planted firmly in the ‘sad girl‘ genre, and I loved it. All vibe, little plot (i.e. totally my jam!), Lydia is a lonely young artist, trying to find a place in the world, without her mother for the 1st time, struggling with her ‘food‘ issues, and her immortality. Gorgeous writing, a really great debut. #netgalley

See All 8 Comments
rmaclean4 Loved this novel. I read it almost a year ago and it has stayed with me!! 4d
squirrelbrain I borrowed this from the library, I think when it was rumoured for the Booker, but didn‘t get round to reading it. It sounds great from your review so may borrow it again…sometime… one day! 4d
BarbaraBB I‘ve never heard of is but it sounds gooood!! 4d
Cinfhen Cool 😎 4d
46 likes3 stack adds8 comments
blurb
Beachesnbooks
Woman, Eating | Claire Kohda
post image

September wrap-up! I finished 11 books in September.
🥇Woman, Eating
🥈L'Esprit de L'Escalier
🥉The Hollow Places

Erinreadsthebooks Woman, Eating is on my radar. This might be the push I need 😃 4mo
34 likes1 comment
review
AbstractMonica
Woman, Eating | Claire Kohda
post image
Bailedbailed

I started this over a week ago, and am only on page 50- I can‘t get into at all. It‘s a bit mundane for me, but I kept trying to pick it back up. The story seemed interesting (a vampire that wishes she could eat food and does not prey on humans. Lydia and her mother have ever only feasted on pig‘s blood to stay functioning). I may try to read it again in the future, but I‘m bailing for now!

TheNeverendingTBR I loved this, hopefully, you'll enjoy a re-read. 4w
AbstractMonica @TheNeverendingTBR i was thinking about this book just the other day... I think i will try it again since im over my reading slump 3w
9 likes2 comments
blurb
Beachesnbooks
Woman, Eating | Claire Kohda
post image

September TBR! Time to start fall reading 🍂

review
Decalino
Woman, Eating | Claire Kohda
post image
Pickpick

Lydia is a 23-year-old aspiring artist starting an internship at a gallery after taking a year off to care for her mother. She is also a vampire, raised to survive on pig's blood & consider herself a monster. Faced with unexpected challenges, Lyd struggles to feed herself & ultimately, to understand her place in the world. A strangely realistic vampire novel, rooted in the realities of being young, uncertain and different from everyone around you.

review
Lauren890
Woman, Eating | Claire Kohda
post image
Pickpick

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ I really enjoyed this strange and somewhat gory book about a mixed race female vampire. It dragged for me just a little near the middle but it‘s well written and the rest was intriguing. It‘s definitely a slower read, and is almost a character study - just with a hungry vampire trying to reconcile her human side with her vampiric tendencies.
This was a #gettbr recommendation.

rmaclean4 I loved this strange novel. Read it a couple of months ago and it has stuck with me. 7mo
Lauren890 @rmaclean4 Yes! I think it‘ll be a hard one to forget. I‘ll definitely be interested if she publishes another novel. 7mo
rmaclean4 Agreed! 7mo
16 likes3 comments
review
TheNeverendingTBR
Woman, Eating | Claire Kohda
post image
Pickpick

I really really loved this book! 🖤

It's so beautifully written and I just loved the characters, I'm going to be always thinking about Lydia.

It's a different view on vampirism, which I can appreciate. I like different.

It's hard to put down once you start.

What a stunning debut.

squirrelbrain Ooh, just got this from the library…. Great review! 7mo
Augustdana Yes!! Loved this different take on vampires!! 7mo
82 likes11 stack adds2 comments
blurb
mdemanatee
Woman, Eating | Claire Kohda
post image

Literary vampire novel? Great for fans of Otessa Moshfegh or Sin Eater by Megan Campisi (if you have any concerns about becoming obsessive with food I would sit this one out). https://youtu.be/vns6Vz_hZUQ

review
Marialou
Woman, Eating | Claire Kohda
post image
Mehso-so

A weird and eerie little book! Basically no plot at all, it‘s all character based - we are in the mind of a sad and hungry female vampire and the book is basically just a continual stream of consciousness.

Fascinating and odd. The last chapter is particularly good but I can‘t say I LOVED it.

6 likes1 stack add
blurb
Augustdana
Woman, Eating | Claire Kohda
post image

So this looks interesting. Not in my wheelhouse so I‘m keeping my fingers crossed. 🤞🤞

Erinreadsthebooks This one is on my radar. Looking forward to your review! 9mo
Augustdana @Erinreadsthebooks I enjoyed this one! Especially the last chapter it really picked up. Sometimes I was annoyed by the decisions she was making, but overall an unconventional vampire book. 8mo
Erinreadsthebooks @Augustdana Sold! I‘m adding it to my stack. 😃 8mo
17 likes1 stack add3 comments
review
Mkhoshy
Woman, Eating | Claire Kohda
post image
Pickpick

I think maybe it's about not denying who you are and
embracing your true nature. Definitely about how you will never belong and are nothing if you don't partake in all of our many food rituals. But most importantly, what it's like being a vampire among delicious humans. I was reminded of how lions and other carnivores eat the stomach of their herbivore prey first, to get veggies into their diet.

review
rmaclean4
Woman, Eating | Claire Kohda
post image
Pickpick

Loved this modern vampire novel of a mixed race young woman finding her power. 4 🌟

review
thewallflower0707
Woman, Eating | Claire Kohda
post image
Panpan

#WomanEating turned out to be a big disappointment. I always thought it would go SOMEWHERE, but it never actually did.

Rating: ⭐️⭐️/5
#ClaireKohda #fiction

rachelsbrittain Hate to hear that! I've been planning on reading this one soon. 9mo
17 likes1 comment
blurb
rmaclean4
Woman, Eating | Claire Kohda
post image

Oh dear! What happens when I go to pick up one book at the library!

EvieBee Woman, Eating sounds interesting! 9mo
21 likes1 comment