Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The Slaughtered Lamb Bookstore and Bar
The Slaughtered Lamb Bookstore and Bar | Seana Kelly
12 posts | 5 read | 12 to read
A master class in storytelling and survival. Publishers Weekly (starred review) Welcome to The Slaughtered Lamb Bookstore and Bar. Im Sam Quinn, the werewolf book nerd in charge. I run my business by one simple rule: Everyone needs a good book and a stiff drink, be they vampire, wicche, demon, or fae. No wolves, though. Ever. I have my reasons. I serve the supernatural community of San Francisco. Weve been having some problems lately. Okay, Im the one with the problems. The broken body of a female werewolf washed up on my doorstep. What makes sweat pool at the base of my spine, though, is realizing the scars she bears are identical to the ones I conceal. After hiding for years, Ive been found. A protection Ive been relying on is gone. While my wolf traits are strengthening steadily, the loss also left my mind vulnerable to attack. Someone is ensnaring me in horrifying visions intended to kill. Clive, the sexy vampire Master of the City, has figured out how to pull me out, designating himself my personal bodyguard. Hes grumpy about it, but that kiss is telling a different story. A change is taking place. It has to. The bookish bartender must become the fledgling badass. Im a survivor. Ill fight fang and claw to protect myself and the ones I love. And lets face it, they have it coming. *** The reviews are in: "Kelly (Welcome Home, Katie Gallagher) introduces fierce, lovable heroine Sam Quinn with this master class in storytelling and survival. Seven years ago, Sam was attacked, raped, and forcibly turned into a werewolf, putting an end to her life as she knew it. Shes since made a home for herself in San Francisco, opening a combination bookstore/bar catering exclusively to the supernatural community. A loner by nature and still contending with her trauma, shes content to lie low without a wolf pack of her own. But when dead bodies begin piling up across the city and Sam receives a threat from an unknown source, she finds herself surrounded by a phalanx of friends she never realized she had. Among them is Clive, the leader of the citys vampire community, whose good looks attract Sam like a zombie to brains. Kelly pulls off an impressive feat, weaving the sensitively handled story of Sams emotional recovery through a rollicking adventure. The unique setting and endearingly quirky side characters only add to the charm. Readers will delight in both the humor and the heartache of this powerful urban fantasy, and theyll be eager to see where Sam goes next. (Publishers Weekly (starred review)) "This action-packed paranormal series launch will appeal to readers who enjoy a plot-driven, female-centric journey of growth with a side of romance. Great for fans of Patricia Briggss Alpha and Omega series. (Book Life (Editors pick))
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
blurb
DebinHawaii
post image

Mahalo @Eggs for the #Two4Tuesday tag! 🤗

1️⃣ Magical! Also supernatural powers are fun.

2️⃣ I‘ll go with some series: the tagged book is the first in a series I discovered last October & 🖤where the MC, Sam, is a wolf/wicche hybrid & kicks butt. Also fun are Molly Harper‘s (YA) Sorcery and Society trilogy which are great as audio, Kim Harrison‘s The Hollows series (I‘m only on Book 5 so far) & the Sonoma Witches series by Gretchen Galway.

Eggs 💗💗💗 4mo
TheSpineView Some great series! Thanks for playing! 4mo
24 likes2 comments
review
SW-T
post image
Pickpick

I liked it. Sam‘s bookstore and bar in San Francisco was a second home for the magical creatures that hung out there. The world building was good. Liked how Sam‘s character grows and how she and Clive faced down the opposition to their growing relationship. Interested in how the series continues, so definitely checking out the next book.

Guess there‘s a bar in NY with the same name. Has a werewolf lounge. 😂

https://www.slaughteredlambpub.com/

SamAnne It‘s the name of the pub in American Werewolf in London, the one they go in before they set off on the moors and…..well we all know how that goes. 5mo
SW-T @SamAnne I totally forgot about that movie! Blast from the past for sure. 5mo
26 likes2 comments
review
audraelizabeth
Pickpick

Loved it, kept me guessing until the end. Sam is my type of character. Id love to visit the slaughtered lamb.
#readharder set in a bookstore
Could also be used for a few prompts in #thesupernaturalyear such as witches, business, vampires, hell, monsters, sam and hunting. @AkashaVampie

review
Dragon
post image
Pickpick

A blame it on Litsy new series for me to get lost in. I borrowed the first book from Libby but I‘ve bought/ ordered the rest on my Kindle. True Blood meets Twilight - I‘m enjoying the werewolf/vampire world building - trigger warning ⚠️ rape, torture, violence against women

blurb
Chrissyreadit
post image

I‘ve been focused on comfort reads lately and this totally hit the spot- supernatural, sort of kind of predictable but in a unique way, (are these considered supernatural cozyish or what sub genre do they fall under?) Super spoiler: is it possible to have a crush on both a vampire and a gay dragon??? @DebinHawaii I see why this was on your #newyearwhodis list and 🙌 Thankyou! #doublebookspin #bestchaptertitlesever

monalyisha That question! 😂 Fun review. 11mo
Laughterhp Oo I‘ll have to check this one out! 11mo
TheAromaofBooks Woohoo!! 11mo
See All 8 Comments
Dragon Yay , they have this title available on Libby so just borrowed it - 💚🐉 11mo
DebinHawaii I am glad you enjoyed it! 🤗 I thought it was a fun one & it is a perfect comfort read. I debated putting it on my #newyearwhodis list but I enjoyed the paranormal characters & the second so much I had to. I‘m going to start the third one of these days! 11mo
Chrissyreadit @DebinHawaii I totally started the second book already 11mo
bthegood “supernatural cozyish“- sold - it is on my TBR - make a great day! 11mo
Chrissyreadit @bthegood I hope you enjoy it too- it‘s such a fun book. 11mo
80 likes6 stack adds8 comments
review
DebinHawaii
post image
Pickpick

#scarathlon #teamhendrix #screamathon #haunted

It‘s fitting that I finished this book today #WitchyWednesday as Sam is descended from a line of powerful wicches in addition to being a werewolf. I really enjoyed this book & will read the next one. It‘s paranormal romance, a bit violent & some triggers for sexual assault but Sam is a warrior & survivor & vampire Clive is hot. There‘s also just about every supernatural creature known to man, the ⬇️

DebinHawaii …San Francisco setting & a supernatural bookstore/bar & well-worked in book references, mostly the classics. It‘s not perfect but a very fun October read.🧙‍♀️🧹🐺🧛🏻 (edited) 14mo
alisiakae Happy Birthday!👻🎉 14mo
Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks 🖤🧙🏻🖤 14mo
See All 8 Comments
Kelly_the_Bookish_Sidekick 🎂Happy Birthday!🎂 14mo
Eggs Happy Birthday 🎂😍👏🏻 14mo
LeahBergen Happy Birthday, my friend! ❤️📚❤️📚 14mo
Bookzombie Happy Birthday!!! 🧁 14mo
53 likes2 stack adds8 comments
blurb
DebinHawaii
post image

#scarathlon #photochallenge #haunted #teamhendrix

With 2 #monsters & #MonstrousMonday prompts today, I‘m combining them with this book. I started it last night & in the first few chapters there‘s werewolves, a vampire, demons, a selkie, a kraken, succubus, owl shifter & witches-so it‘s pretty monster-full.😱There‘s also a bookstore/bar carved into a cliff on the bay for supernaturals & the werewolf owner reads Pride and Prejudice for comfort.🖤

DebinHawaii P.S. I vote Witch! 🧙‍♀️ 14mo
Traci1 Witch for sure. 14mo
MeganAnn Definitely witch! ✨🔮🧙🏻‍♀️This book sounds very interesting… stacked! (edited) 14mo
See All 8 Comments
Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks Witch 🧙🏻 for sure!! 🧹 14mo
DebinHawaii @Traci1 @Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks @MeganAnn Is there really another answer?!?! 😉 🧹🧙🔮🐈‍⬛🖤 14mo
DebinHawaii @MeganAnn I will say it‘s on the violent side but I am intrigued so far. 14mo
Palimpsest 🧙‍♀️ 14mo
Eggs Zombie witch 🧟‍♀️🧙🏿‍♀️ 14mo
43 likes1 stack add8 comments
blurb
DebinHawaii
post image

#scarathlon #photochallenge #screamathon

6 of the paranormal #mystery & cozy mystery books I am hoping to get to this month, starting with the tagged book that I hope to start tonight. All feature witches or other supernatural creatures so they fit my #teamhendrix prompts. 🧙‍♀️ 🦇🐺🧛🏻‍♀️🧟‍♀️

blurb
ShyBookOwl
post image

😊😊😊 This chapter title makes me smile

Riveted_Reader_Melissa Yes, I‘ll admit I picked up the book tagged below because of its title alone… 1y
ShyBookOwl @Riveted_Reader_Melissa That's a GREAT title 1y
ShyBookOwl @Tamra oh wow! Yes!! A classic. I was obsessed with it as a kid. 1y
45 likes4 comments
blurb
ShyBookOwl
post image

Peacefully bookish morning. Renting a cottage on the river for a few days... what a view. Going to finish this read by the water today... and immediately start a new one! 📚❤

RenePenn Love the view 1y
QuietlyLaura That looks spectacular! 1y
Kenyazero Sounds like a cozy day! 1y
See All 6 Comments
Avanders 😍😍 1y
Tamra Lovely!! 1y
ShyBookOwl @Kenyazero it really was! 1y
63 likes6 comments
blurb
ShyBookOwl
post image

Love these chapter titles 🤓😅

58 likes1 stack add
blurb
ShyBookOwl
post image

Yep! This seems like a fun choice for my next read 😂

Bette Sounds like a fun time! 2y
Fr3NcHtOaSt I am going to have to read this. Just looked it up. Sounds like right up my alley. 2y
62 likes2 stack adds2 comments