Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Beetle & the Hollowbones
Beetle & the Hollowbones | Aliza Layne
20 posts | 17 read | 1 reading | 9 to read
An enchanting, riotous, and playfully illustrated debut graphic novel following a young goblin trying to save her best friend from the haunted mallperfect for fans of Steven Universe and Adventure Time. In the eerie town of Allows, some people get to be magical sorceresses, while other people have their spirits trapped in the mall for all ghastly eternity. Then theres twelve-year-old goblin-witch Beetle, whos caught in between. Shed rather skip being homeschooled completely and spend time with her best friend, Blob Glost. But the mall is getting boring, and B.G. is cursed to haunt it, tethered there by some unseen force. And now Beetles old best friend, Kat, is back in town for a sorcery apprenticeship with her Aunt Hollowbone. Kat is everything Beetle wants to be: beautiful, cool, great at magic, and kind of famous online. Beetles quickly being left in the dust. But Kats mentor has set her own vile scheme in motion. If Blob Ghost doesnt escape the mall soon, their afterlife might be coming to a very sticky end. Now, Beetle has less than a week to rescue her best ghost, encourage Kat to stand up for herself, and confront the magic shes been avoiding for far too long. And hopefully ride a broom without crashing.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
LaurenMags
post image
Pickpick

I think I found a new favorite middle grade graphic novel! I love the story and the drawings/color. #spookyseason #spooky #graphicnovel

review
jb72
post image
Pickpick

#justanothergraphicmonday

A cute and cool graphic novel. There were a few panels I had a hard time following, but they all came together in the end. Thanks @ElizaMarie

ElizaMarie I am glad you liked it. It was just cutesy nothing heavy which sometimes is where it is at! 11mo
jb72 @ElizaMarie Exactly that! Something fun to read. I love nonfiction but sometimes I want to read fun and fluffy. 11mo
28 likes2 comments
review
ElizaMarie
post image
Pickpick

Such a cute story about friendship, standing up for yourself, and finding who you want to be. I really enjoyed it!

#JustAnotherGraphicMonday
@Bookworm54 @AkashaVampie @AsYouWish @jb72 @AnansiGirl

#DogsofLitsy

jb72 My library doesn‘t have digits but they have a physical copy. I put it on hold since you liked it so much. ♥️ 11mo
ElizaMarie @jb72 - yeah it was super cute! I am surprised I enjoyed it so much as the drawings were different aesthetically than I would have preferred. 11mo
jb72 I picked this up at the library. I just read the first few pages and so far it seems cute. 11mo
ElizaMarie @jb72 Yeah its pretty cute :) 11mo
37 likes4 comments
blurb
ElizaMarie
post image
blurb
ElizaMarie
post image
blurb
IndoorDame
post image

#LMPBC books sent! Beetle and the Hollowbones & Auntie Po are now making their way to @LibrarianRyan and Gender Queer is now making its way to @bibliobard. They should all arrive next Fri or thereabouts. Happy reading!

LibrarianRyan yeah!!! Thank youl 12mo
bibliobard Just in time cause I just finished 12mo
46 likes2 comments
blurb
IndoorDame
post image
Clwojick Looks cute! I‘ll have to check it out. 12mo
45 likes1 comment
blurb
IndoorDame
post image
Clwojick ❤️💖❤️ 12mo
52 likes1 comment
review
IndoorDame
post image
Pickpick

The last MG graphic novel for #LMPC Group A was fabulous! Very experiential. No page numbers or right angled panels… I found this to be a slow read, but a completely immersive one. The art and text blended surprisingly well, and I could feel myself there with the characters and see everything they were doing around me. For me this was a 5 ⭐️ read even though I found the storyline fun but not remarkable, just because the characters were so bright.

IndoorDame #PopSugar2022 #ABookWithAMisleadingTitle #BBRC Yeah Baby Dragon Fantasy #LGBTQBookBingo #FreeSpace

@LibrarianRyan @bibliobard I‘ll get this, Auntie Po, and Gender Queer out to you this week
12mo
LibrarianRyan @IndoorDame Yeah. Glad you liked it. 12mo
53 likes2 comments
review
LibrarianRyan
post image
Pickpick

⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐5 ⭐
Beetle is a goblin. She wants to do more than magic, she wants to do sorcery, but as a goblin, that is not in the pages for her. But still she must learn from her grandma the ways of the goblin. Her best friend is Blob Ghost (BG) but they cannot leave the mall. Yes the shopping mall, that is almost empty. They have to find a way out. Not only has Beetle‘s old friend and crush Kat come back to town, her aunt is going to tear

LibrarianRyan down the mall!. The two friends have to find a way to save BG, come to terms with their feelings for each other, and figure out who really has all the power. After all, Aunt Hollowbones is out to get them. This book was just adorable. It has adventure, it has magic, it has heart, and all sorts of other feelings. The storytelling is spot on, and the art is amazing!. This will be a book I will be telling others to read for years to come. 1y
ozma.of.oz Gorgeous art! 😍 1y
LibrarianRyan @ozma.of.oz Yes it was. I loved it. 1y
IndoorDame Love the art style!!! If this wasn‘t already on my list I‘d be adding it just from that photo. 1y
55 likes2 stack adds4 comments
blurb
WanderingBookaneer
post image

@LibrarianRyan : This is purr-fection. I would like to purchase it from you after it gets back to you.

Read-y_Picker So cute!!! 1y
erinreads I NEED THIS. 😻 #gingercatclub 1y
Bookzombie I love the fabric! 1y
LibrarianRyan Go ahead and keep. I only made one other in that fabric for a Litten. Plus I have it as a book hugger too. 😁 (edited) 1y
kspenmoll Looks fabulous!!! 1y
67 likes5 comments
blurb
CaseyTheCanadianLesbrarian
post image

It was so much fun making this quiz for Autostraddle! Check it out at https://www.autostraddle.com/quiz-which-queer-spooky-book-should-you-read-this-o... and let me know which book you got!
🎃🏳️‍🌈📖 #QueerBooks #LGBTQBooks

allureofbeauty I also got nothing but blackened teeth 1y
Chrissyreadit I got Squad, which sounded like a storyline I would like- but graphic novels are hit or miss for me. 1y
See All 13 Comments
Clare-Dragonfly How delightful! I had a hard time choosing for some of the questions which clearly means I should read all of them 😁 But my actual result was 1y
CaseyTheCanadianLesbrarian @catiewithac hope you get appropriately scared! 1y
CaseyTheCanadianLesbrarian @Chrissyreadit I hope if you try it it ends up a hit! 1y
CaseyTheCanadianLesbrarian @Clare-Dragonfly hope you like it! 1y
Chrissyreadit @CaseyTheCanadianLesbrarian full disclosure that cracks me up- my daughter has claimed I don‘t expand my exposure to more lgbtq because I don‘t watch a lot of movies - but I don‘t watch movies in general- I read- and even though I find I‘m reading more and more books with sexual diversity I‘m making more of an effort to actively seek books I can read and recommend to her! So I loved this! And am going to share it with her and her girlfriend ❤️ 1y
Bookzombie I got this one, which is currently sitting on my shelf to read. 😀 1y
CaseyTheCanadianLesbrarian @Chrissyreadit oh yay that's wonderful! I write lots of stuff about queer books for Autostraddle if you or your daughter are ever looking for recommendations. 😊 1y
Chrissyreadit Absolutely 100% yes!!! 1y
31 likes13 comments
review
GirlNamedJesse
post image
Pickpick

An original and magical tale of goblins, sorceresses, and blob ghosts! There‘s ancient family/town history at play, an identity crisis, and some incredibly awesome magic!

blurb
BookishMarginalia
post image

Random #shelfie of the day, with cat

#YetiCat #CatsofLitsy

bookishkai Kitty looks not-so-impressed with that pile of books! I think it looks great (I see a few from my own TBR). 2y
Bookzombie So pretty! 💕🐈 2y
126 likes2 comments
review
BookInMyHands
post image
Pickpick

Beetle is a goblin/witch with a blob ghost friend who cannot leave the mall he haunts. When the mall is scheduled for demolition she must find a way to get her friend out first.

Beetle reconnects with a childhood friend and crush whose aunt just happens to be behind the demolition.
Can they work together to save Blob Ghost?

#stonewallawardwinner
#middlegradegraphicnovel
#queergraphicnovel

blurb
Branwen
post image

🎉🎉🎉 Here are my favorite graphic novels of 2020! 🎉🎉🎉

#3 My Favorite Thing is Monsters
#2 This Was Our Pact
#1 ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Beetle and the Hollowbones

AkashaVampie @ElizaMarie agree or havent read them? 2y
ElizaMarie @AkashaVampie I‘ve only read My Favorite Thing is Monsters and I loved it so so much! 2y
36 likes2 comments
blurb
Branwen
post image

These are two of the best graphic novels I've read this year! They are aimed for a younger audience but they are just absolutely so whimsical, magical, and perfect that I think a person of any age would love them! 😍 I originally read them through my library but adored them so much I had to get my own copies! 💕📚

42 likes1 stack add
blurb
Branwen
post image

Snagged some graphic novels from the library! I've been wanting to try Giant Days and Lumberjanes for quite awhile now! I'm most excited for Beetle and the Hollowbones though! It looks amazing and the artwork is so pretty and colorful! 😍💕📚 #librarylove #librarybookhaul

Sweetkokoro The Prince and the Dressmaker was absolutely adorable, I loved it and need to get it for my personal collection. 2y
GrilledCheeseSamurai I friggen love Giant Days! ♥️ 2y
Bette CiCi‘s Journal is beautiful I just loved the story. ❤️👌 2y
43 likes1 stack add3 comments
review
CaseyTheCanadianLesbrarian
post image
Pickpick

This middle grade graphic novel was just the cutest. Beetle is a goblin witch learning to do magic with her gran when she finds out the mall which her non-binary friend Ghost Blob is doomed to haunt is going to torn down. By who? Power-hungry Marla Hollowbone, whose niece Kat, a cat skeleton sorceress, is back in town. Can Beetle and Kat save Ghost Blob and admit their feelings for each other? Gorgeous Halloweeny art and endearing characters!

42 likes3 stack adds4 comments
quote
CaseyTheCanadianLesbrarian
post image

"You know how goblins feel about the law." - Grandma

"We are wretched, lawless little creatures." - Beetle, while clutching her broom hoping to not fall off, so tough

StayCurious Cute! 2y
29 likes2 comments