Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
kaykay521

kaykay521

Joined September 2016

Abibliophobia: the fear of running out of reading material
review
kaykay521
Brown Girl Dreaming | Jacqueline Woodson
post image
Pickpick

This is my biography pick for a YA lit class I am taking for my masters. I listened on audio and enjoyed Jacqueline‘s voice spinning the story of her childhood in Greenville, SC ( where I live!) and also NYC. All whilst being a young black girl growing up in the 60s.

review
kaykay521
post image
Mehso-so

Informative little book that highlights the fact that abuse can happen to women from all walks of life. Paying special attention to women who may out earn their husbands and how and why they end up in abusive relationships.

review
kaykay521
Asking For It | Louise O'Neill
post image
Pickpick

I‘ve actually had this read for about a week now, but I needed time to process. I can‘t say I necessarily enjoyed this book, but it is one that I think everyone should read. It made me angry and sad but I‘m pretty sure that was the point. I am gonna “pick” it mostly bc I think it‘s important we have conversations about consent and rape culture.

Reagan That book really threw me for a loop. I agree that it is an important book, and we need to have those conversations, but man, what a tough read. 2w
28 likes1 comment
review
kaykay521
Sadie | Courtney Summers
post image
Pickpick

Ugh...this one hits you right in the gut. I found myself almost sobbing at certain parts ( I listened to it on audio), mostly bc I see so much of me and my sis‘s upbringing and relationship. Our mother and father were both addicts and even though we didn‘t experience the level of abuse Sadie and Mattie did we still leaned on each other for support....at almost 30 years old we still do. Hug your sisters everyone ❤️❤️❤️

review
kaykay521
post image
Bailedbailed

I gave it about 75 pgs before bailing. It‘s nothing I don‘t already know and I have a stack a mile high to get through. I‘m trying to remember to let myself put down books I‘m not enjoying.

JoyBlue Good for you for protecting your precious time and TBR stack! Thanks for the warning, too. 😉 3w
25 likes1 comment
review
kaykay521
post image
Pickpick

I absolutely loved this book. I‘ve read other reviews of people who were annoyed by Julia, but I for one empathized and related to her. Even though I‘m not a Mexican and my parents aren‘t immigrants. I guess I just related to her desire to see more of the world, expand her horizons and not settle for mediocre. Also really loved how the novel tackled mental health issues.

27 likes1 stack add
review
kaykay521
How to Raise a Reader | Pamela Paul, Maria Russo
post image
Pickpick

Will definitely be adding this one to my library for my future children. There are a TON of recommendations in here. This is a really well thought out book.

Slajaunie I don‘t know if there is a formula for it. I have 1 reader and two non-readers. 4w
28 likes1 comment
review
kaykay521
The Institute | Stephen King
Pickpick

Really enjoyed this creepy tale of children kidnapped from their homes and tested to extract their supernatural gifts. Story flowed well and I was engaged with the characters. Especially liked Kalisha and Avery.

review
kaykay521
Genuine Fraud | E. Lockhart
post image
Pickpick

How many times can one person reinvent themselves? This book, told backwards, tells the story of Jules, and Imogen, two young women and their twisty friendship.

KendallHershey I found the reverse chronological story format really compelling here! I got totally sucked in. 1mo
24 likes1 stack add1 comment
blurb
kaykay521
How to Raise a Reader | Pamela Paul, Maria Russo
post image

Comfort food lunch on this beautiful cold SC day. 💗📚

review
kaykay521
After the Fire | Will Hill
post image
Pickpick

Another YA book down for my lit class. This one was nominated for an Edgar Award in the YA category. Moonbeam has spent all her life as a member of The Lord‘s Legion, forbidden from leaving the groups compound. After a gun fight with authorities she must piece together what is left of her life and whether anything she‘s been told is true.

29 likes2 stack adds
review
kaykay521
Pickpick

I read this for my YA class for my masters degree. I thought it was really cute. I loved Laura Jean‘s relationship with her sisters and with Peter. I‘m hoping to be able to read the sequels soon. 📚❤️

review
kaykay521
post image
Pickpick

A great nonfiction on a piece of history I‘ve always had an interest in. FYI the animated Anastasia 90s movie is way historical inaccurate. The fall of imperial Russia, combined with the start of WWI makes for an interesting read.

review
kaykay521
The Poet X | Elizabeth Acevedo
post image
Pickpick

I listened to this on audio, read by the author, which was a great decision. Listening to Xiomara pour her heart out through her poetry was such an experience. I absolutely loved this book, and would highly recommend listening to it on audio.

quote
kaykay521
The Poet X | Elizabeth Acevedo
post image

Burn it! Burn it. This is where the poems are,” I say, thumping a fist against my chest. “Will you burn me? Will you burn me, too?
Elizabeth Acevedo, The Poet X

35 likes1 stack add
review
kaykay521
Hey, Kiddo | Jarrett J. Krosoczka
post image
Pickpick

I‘ve never read any of this authors other work, but I was utterly mesmerized by his tale of growing up in his grandparents household while his mother battled heroine addiction and his father was MIA. Art saved Jarrett‘s life. Another reason I‘m convinced an arts education matters along with supportive family.

29 likes2 stack adds
review
kaykay521
The Impossible Knife of Memory | Laurie Halse Anderson
post image
Pickpick

One of my selections for a Young Adult Lit class I am taking for my masters degree. A good solid read. Hayley is trying to navigate her senior year of high school, her feelings for a boy named Finn, all while dealing with her veteran father suffering from severe PTSD from his tours overseas. The relationship between father and daughter is touching as she tries to navigate how to help him while keeping her own sanity.

blurb
kaykay521
post image

Broke 17,000 litfluence overnight! Thank you guys for being my favorite corner of social media. 💕❤️🎉🎊

Megabooks 🎉🎉🥳🥳📚📚🍾 3mo
Bklover Congratulations!!! 3mo
DrawingSustenance 👏👏👏🎉 3mo
See All 8 Comments
Jas16 🎉👏📚 3mo
Ddzmini Congratulations 🎊🎈🎉 🥳 3mo
Redwritinghood 🎉🎉 3mo
Dragon 👍😀🎉 3mo
TK-421 Congratulations! 3mo
25 likes8 comments
review
kaykay521
post image
Pickpick

Paul is the editor of The New York Times Book Review and has kept a small notebook at her side most of her life, chronicling every book she‘s read. This is the story of the life lived among those books.

8little_paws I thought this was so cute. 3mo
37 likes1 comment
quote
kaykay521
post image

review
kaykay521
The Other Woman | Sandie Jones
post image
Pickpick

Adam and Emily meet at a networking event and are soon joined at the hip. Within months they are engaged. After a bad breakup years earlier, things are falling into place for Emily. There‘s just one teeny problem, Adam‘s mother Pammie will stop at absolutely nothing to get Emily out of her son‘s life. I won‘t say anymore, the less you know about this up front the better. It was like the book version of a lifetime movie, which I enjoyed.

27 likes1 stack add
review
kaykay521
post image
Pickpick

It took me a couple weeks to read this. I absolutely believe everyone should read this. We‘re all touched by domestic violence somewhere in our lives. Such heavy subject matter but necessary to read. It tried to tackle questions such as why do victims side with their abusers? Why don‘t they leave? Can abusive partners change?

guinsgirlreads This one‘s taking me awhile to read too, but so far from what I have read, I believe the same! Everyone should read this book. Great review! 👍🏻 4mo
25 likes2 stack adds1 comment
review
kaykay521
Mehso-so

Meh. I was looking forward to a character analysis of the ACTUAL character Macbeth. This was literally the entire play with commentary thrown in. Not what I was expecting.

blurb
kaykay521
No Visible Bruises | Rachel Louise Snyder
post image

Current TBR, not counting my downloaded audiobooks 📚

review
kaykay521
post image
Pickpick

Absolutely loved it 😍📚. I‘m a sucker for books about the reading life and Anne did not disappoint! I read this in just a couple hours this afternoon, and actually like it better than Ex Libris: Confessions of a common reader. This one just spoke to me more. FYI if you aren‘t listening to Anne‘s podcast What Should I Read Next you should 😊. It‘s fantastic. I borrowed this from the library but will be getting my own copy ASAP

MizDoniaBuding loved that lil book 5mo
42 likes1 stack add1 comment
review
kaykay521
Our House | Louise Candlish
post image
Pickpick

This was a decent thriller. Fiona comes home from vacation to find strangers moving into HER home. Assuming there‘s been a terrible mix up she confronts the new owners. Her ex husband has sold it out from under her and fled. Why did he do this? Where is he? A solid thriller with a few twists I didn‘t see coming.

quote
kaykay521
post image

My English teacher did the same thing, only for me it was 7th grade not 5th..and yes the reaction was the same. Not a dry eye in the house. Boys and girls both

review
kaykay521
post image
Pickpick

Really good review of English language arts for the middle school crowd. Really liked the explanations and illustrations.

25 likes1 stack add
review
kaykay521
The Silent Patient | Alex Michaelides
post image
Pickpick

Alicia Berenson shot her husband 5 times in the face and then goes completely mute. What happened? Why won‘t Alicia speak? Theo Faber a psychotherapist is convinced he can help Alicia and figure out what happened. Most of the book is told from Theo‘s POV and I found him intriguing. What is his motivation? Is he obsessed with Alicia? I didn‘t see the twist coming. A solid thriller.

Cathythoughts Nice review! I just started this one 6mo
LiteraryinLititz I plan to read this one in the next couple months! 6mo
28 likes2 stack adds2 comments
review
kaykay521
post image
Pickpick

I read this in about two sittings. Roz‘s account of her elderly parents decline and eventual deaths in their late 90s was both hilarious and absolutely heart wrenching. By the end I was in absolute tears I think anyone who‘s ever cared for a sick or elderly loved one will be able to relate

31 likes1 stack add
review
kaykay521
Speak: The Graphic Novel | Laurie Halse Anderson
post image
Pickpick

I read the original Speak many years ago when I too was also a teenager. Melinda‘s journey from quiet scared kid to empowered young woman is still as heartbreaking now as it was 15 years ago. Speak is one of my all time favorite YA novels and the updated graphic novel breathes new life into it.

29 likes2 stack adds
review
kaykay521
post image
Bailedbailed

DNF around 30% in, a bunch of corporate mumbo jumbo about rumbles or something or another. I doubt these work in a lot of job situations. I‘ve heard great things about this author, but this was my first attempt at any of her work. Possibly I‘ll try another one and see if I like it.

Clint I‘ve read most all of her books. This one was not my favorite as it was so work centered. I‘d recommend “The Gift of Imperfection” or “Daring Greatly” 5mo
29 likes1 comment
review
kaykay521
post image
Pickpick

This was a great book for those of us ( myself included) who know we struggle with our mental health sometimes, but have never made the leap to actually see a therapist. She explains the process, therapy techniques used, what different therapists are trained to help with, how the appointment might go, etc. Very informative

23 likes2 stack adds
review
kaykay521
post image
Mehso-so

Meh, there were parts of this book I loved, especially her explanation of discernment. Just because a book has questionable content does not mean Christians should automatically stay away. The book lists were interesting, but pretty heavy on religion which was not what I was going for.

quote
kaykay521
post image

A girl who reads is a girl who learns 💗💗💗

20 likes1 stack add
review
kaykay521
post image
Mehso-so

This one fell pretty flat for me guys. I did read the book in about 3 days, but I didn‘t care at all for the characters (except maybe the husbands believe it or not ). The writing was just not good and the plot development felt forced. Both of these women are awful and not in a deliciously fun devilish kinda way 🙄. I am gonna check out the movie to see if it‘s the rare time it‘s better than the book.

review
kaykay521
post image
Pickpick

I really enjoyed this novel about a young wife and artist who just moved to a new home and is convinced her next door neighbor is a murderer. Really liked the tension between the characters, don‘t wanna reveal too much of the plot bc it does have a few well placed twists.

Bookladylinda I loved this one too! 7mo
26 likes1 stack add1 comment
review
kaykay521
Flammable | Gabrielle Bell
Pickpick

Enjoyed this graphic memoir of Gabrielle returning home to help her mother rebuild after a house fire. They have a fractured relationship strife with past abuses and neglect, but it was an honest real portrayal of a mother daughter relationship. Plus I appreciated Gabrielle‘s speaking candidly about her mental illnesses.

review
kaykay521
post image
Mehso-so

First things first, let me tell you, this book is sloooowwwww. Seriously, I listened on audio and the actual mystery of the skull in the elm tree did not show up til at least 6 or more hours in (it‘s a 22 hour book). This is less traditional mystery and more a study on luck ( or privilege), and family dynamics. It was enjoyable, and a stand-alone from her Dublin murder squad series, which I haven‘t read.

review
kaykay521
post image
Panpan

This book has several issues, too many acronyms and cutesy names for everything , it was confusing. Secondly I thought this book would be a kind of self help guide for social anxiety issues. Her remedy for this is exercise and getting up early, instead of you know maybe actual therapy and maybe medication. Most of this book is just her promoting Daybreakers, her morning dance/rave company 🙄. I‘d rather hurl than dance at 5am with anyone.

kaykay521 Seriously she suggests ways to up dopamine and serotonin levels....isn‘t she aware that some people‘s brains don‘t produce enough of this stuff as it is? 8mo
SleepyDragon If I woke up and exercised/danced af 5 am, I would probably also hurl. 8mo
38 likes2 comments
review
kaykay521
Watching You | Lisa Jewell
post image
Pickpick

Everyone in the posh upscale neighborhood of Melville Heights has a secret and everyone is watching each other. I will say that you find out at the very beginning that someone has been murdered, but you don‘t find out til near the very end who has been killed, why or by whom. I love books about neighborhoods with secrets

kaykay521 Also...so many questions about that ending??!?. Did Nicola kill Viva? Why was she bullying her so bad? How did a teen fake a suicide so well to full police? Or did she convince Viva to kill herself after fooling her about mr fitzwilliam. Did Tom know what Nicola had done before the Lake District trip? I need to talk to people about this book. 8mo
36 likes3 stack adds1 comment
review
kaykay521
Pickpick

Samantha touches on subjects from spreading her father‘s ashes in Nashville to the fun of working in an animal clinic and everything in between, all with humor. This was definitely deeper than I thought it would be.

review
kaykay521
Pickpick

Marianne spends an entire year ( and then some) living by various self help books. The experiment forces her to evaluate her life in ways she never thought she‘d have to. So does self help really help? She answers this with grace and humor.

19 likes1 stack add
review
kaykay521
Circe | Madeline Miller
post image
Pickpick

Really enjoyed this account of the goddess Circe from her perspective. Really puts a new spin on some of the myths most of us are familiar with. I listen to the audio and found it engaging.

review
kaykay521
Bailedbailed

Ugh...I got more than half way through but at this point I have no idea what‘s going on nor do I really care. I have a stack on my desk to read. Time to move on to something that will hold my attention

review
kaykay521
Elevation | Stephen King
Pickpick

I really enjoyed this short sweet King novella, all about finding common ground with one‘s neighbors. I know fans of his lengthier novels might be perturbed by the lack of answered questions, but I was intrigued and finished the book with a sense of love and community.😊

blurb
kaykay521
post image

16000 litfluence y‘all! Between work and graduate school I don‘t get anywhere near the amount of pleasure reading time I would like. That said, I do love this bookish community. This bibliophile has found her tribe ❤️❤️❤️

JanuarieTimewalker13 👌🏽💕 9mo
CoverToCoverGirl 🎉🎉👍 9mo
Jas16 🎉📚👏 9mo
See All 8 Comments
DivineDiana 👏🏻📚👏🏻 9mo
kspenmoll 🙌🏻🎉🎊 9mo
jpmcwisemorgan Yay!!! 9mo
Redwritinghood 🎉🎉🎉🎉 9mo
julesG Congratulations! 9mo
42 likes8 comments
review
kaykay521
post image
Pickpick

Absolutely loved it, I have read reviews that people found Eleanor irritating. I don‘t know if it‘s because I have an autistic younger brother or what, but I found her endearing. I was so rooting for her throughout the book. 💗

CouronneDhiver Loved her too! Great book. I can recommend two readalikes: 9mo
kaykay521 Awesome! I‘ll add them both to my TBR 9mo
47 likes1 stack add3 comments
quote
kaykay521
post image

“If someone asks you how you are, you are meant to say FINE. You are not meant to say that you cried yourself to sleep last night because you hadn‘t spoken to another person for two consecutive days. FINE is what you say.”

review
kaykay521
post image
Pickpick

I figured what better way to read a book about the befits of reading aloud then to have the book read aloud to me! This is an excellent book backed by scientific research, and anecdotal evidence about the benefits of reading aloud. The book focuses on the benefits for children but also delves into the benefits for adults and the benefits for the reader too. I love reading aloud, and the joy it gives , hopefully you will too after reading this.

36 likes1 stack add