Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Empress of a Thousand Skies
Empress of a Thousand Skies | Rhoda Belleza
103 posts | 89 read | 3 reading | 133 to read
Empress Rhee, better known as Crown Princess Rhiannon Taan, is the sole surviving heir to a powerful dynasty. Shell stop at nothing to avenge her family and claim her throne. Fugitive Aly has risen above his war refugee origins to find fame as the dashing star of a holo-vision show. But when hes falsely accused of killing Rhee, he's forced to prove his innocence to save his reputation and his life. Madman With planets on the brink of war, Rhee and Aly are thrown together to confront a ruthless evil that threatens the fate of the entire galaxy. Rhoda Belleza crafts a powerful saga of vengeance, warfare, and the true meaning of legacy in her exhilarating debut, perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer and Pierce Brown.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
quote
VioletMoonBooks
post image
quote
VioletMoonBooks
post image
blurb
SilverShanica
post image

I am posting one book per day from my to-be-read collection. No description and providing no reason for wanting to read it, I just do. Some will be old, some will be new - don‘t judge me I have a lot of books.
Join the fun if you want. This is day 118.
#bookstoread
#tbrpile
#bookstagram

3 likes2 stack adds
quote
VioletMoonBooks
post image
blurb
VioletMoonBooks
post image
review
VioletMoonBooks
post image
Pickpick

I‘m not usually a fan of science fiction, but I did enjoy this story. At first it started off slow, but the more I read, the more interesting it got. It was full of twists and turns. I can‘t wait to read the next book. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
#EnpressOfAThousandSkies #RhodaBelleza #book #books #bookyourself #bookunion #bookutopia #bookunicorn #bookunicorns #bookish #bookishfeature #bookishfeatures #bookishlife #ScienceFiction #YoungAdult #Fantasy #YA 💚💚💚💚💚

39 likes2 stack adds
blurb
VioletMoonBooks
post image
InBooksILive How cool! Love that map 2y
23 likes1 comment
blurb
MommyOfTwo
post image

So thankful we have a porch to sit on even when it‘s pouring out. #rainyday

blurb
MommyOfTwo
post image

87 for a high today. It‘s warm but I‘m enjoying my lunch outside with my book.

blurb
MommyOfTwo
post image

Beautiful weather to be outside this weekend and get lost in a book.

MoonWitch94 I need that mug! 😂🤣🤷🏻‍♀️ 3y
MommyOfTwo @MoonWitch94 isn‘t it great! It‘s from my BF @Jennick2004 3y
30 likes2 comments
quote
VioletMoonBooks
post image
blurb
VioletMoonBooks
post image
blurb
Endowarrior21
post image
blurb
LibrarianRyan
post image

#7days7covers

Day 7 person 7

review
mirsophie
Panpan

I wanted to like this book I really did but the characters were flat and cliche. I applaud the diversity in this novel but sadly the story just wasn't for me. I am deeply disappointed this book didnt have the spark or emotion I wanted

LibrarianRyan Oh no! 3y
17 likes1 comment
quote
VioletMoonBooks
post image
review
Rachiiebookdragon
Pickpick

This was such an easy read (for a scifi/fantasy book) and so so good! That ending! 😱 5/5

review
LeticiaToraci
post image
Mehso-so

This is quite boring up to 2/3 of the over hyped book. Not much of a plot, both superficial POVs run from one place to another, the answers delayed ad infinitum so that you read on. A pity because the premise hinted at so much more.
The last third of the book was better, perhaps the book would be better if Rhee's POV had been more developed. Her POV was driving the plot, while Aly's felt like repetitive filler. #E for #AtoZLitsy

4 likes1 stack add
blurb
LeticiaToraci
post image

My TBR for 2019 Part 1

7 likes1 stack add
blurb
VioletMoonBooks
post image
13 likes1 stack add
blurb
VioletMoonBooks
post image
18 likes2 stack adds
blurb
VioletMoonBooks
post image
quote
VioletMoonBooks
post image
blurb
VioletMoonBooks
post image
blurb
LibrarianRyan
post image
Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks Pretty ❤️ 4y
51 likes1 comment
review
behudd
Mehso-so

I cannot decide with this book! At moments I thought I hated it but then I was sucked right back in to the nonstop storytelling. So I‘m giving it a so-so that‘s leaning towards a pick!

blurb
Laughterhp
post image

I‘ve been doing so good all year! I‘ve been trying not to buy books and I‘ve bought a few books here and there, but I broke down and bought 6 books today!! 😬

I‘ve been itching to go to the bookstore near me, but they aren‘t open on Sundays, which is when I‘m normally free, so I haven‘t been able to go.

Now more books to move 😬😬😬 (though I tried to get mostly paperbacks)

Reviewsbylola Six books is totally reasonable! 4y
Laughterhp @Reviewsbylola Haha thanks! That makes me feel better. 😊 4y
Ddzmini I think I‘m going to have to go on a no buying book moratorium next year 😖😨😰 4y
Laughterhp @Ddzmini It‘s the worst! Knowing you can‘t buy any books!! And forcing yourself not too!! 4y
Ddzmini Every time I try I always fail 😕😖 4y
45 likes5 comments
blurb
BookHoarder32
post image

Currently on a space kick. Found these on my shelves - some from past book boxes, and I think most already have a sequel published this year 😁 so in case they're good 🤞☺️

BookHoarder32 Hm.. Empress was not that great... onto Heart of Iron 5y
BookHoarder32 Heart of Iron was 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 (edited) 5y
BookHoarder32 Defy the Stars was also 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 (edited) 5y
BookHoarder32 Shadow Run was also 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 (edited) 5y
41 likes4 comments
blurb
VioletMoonBooks
post image
quote
VioletMoonBooks
post image
18 likes1 stack add
blurb
VioletMoonBooks
post image
blurb
VioletMoonBooks
post image
12 likes2 stack adds
review
TheLittlestBook
post image
Mehso-so

This book has what I'm starting to call the "first book syndrome". It's starts off a bit slow and I didn't connect with the characters until the end of the book, but by the ending you definitely want to pick up the next one.
I also love the world that is being created and hope the next book delves in further.

398.2 I felt the same way. I had high hopes for it 5y
TheLittlestBook @398.2 Hopefully the second book is better. 5y
4 likes1 stack add2 comments
blurb
LibrarianRyan
post image

Another goal is read down the number of first in a series books I own. Once again, don't plan to finish it, but I'm going to give it go. #booksiown

Soubhiville Wow! 😲 5y
drokka I'd like to do something like this next year. I'm torn between all the book 1s, then 2s, finishing series I've started, or starting at 1 and ending at whatever was published by the time I get there. Either way, I should, hopefully make a dent in my TBR. 5y
LibrarianRyan @drokka I know. Hard to decide. 5y
63 likes3 comments
blurb
melrailey
post image

Started this one while running errands this morning. I think it‘s gonna be great. But now I‘m back home and curling up with actual books. #readathon #Deweys24HourReadathon

75 likes1 stack add
blurb
LibrarianRyan
post image

Anyone who follows me knows I love space books. However, this one has the best #moon cover ever. It's so detailed and well done with the face and the hair. #coverlove #uncannyoctober.

WarpedSweetness I didn't notice the face and hair at first. I got confused when I read it and looked again. That's a great cover! 5y
72 likes2 stack adds1 comment
blurb
TheLittlestBook
post image

Current Read. This has been on my TBR for a while now.

review
anniekslibrary
post image
Mehso-so

I heard a lot of great things about this book, but it wasn't for me. I didn't get immersed in the story at all and while I was reading it, I just felt like I had seen it all before... It wasn't a bad book, but I felt no connection with it.

review
Nitpickyabouttrains
post image
Pickpick

I liked this one. It was short. And a lot of it just felt like a set up for the next book. But I am in on the story and want to know what happens.

review
Fancypants
post image
Mehso-so

Not a bad fantasy novel - first in a series. But I thought the writing was pretty repetitive in some parts.

blurb
Fancypants
post image

Found out I didn't get a job I wanted today so drowning my sorrows in fries and some YA reading.

BookFreakOut Boo, hope you can find another good opportunity. ☹️ 5y
BeckyLeJ Aw, I'm sorry to hear that. The next opportunity will be a better one! 5y
mcipher Ugh, that sucks. Hopefully something better comes along soon!! 5y
Eyelit Sorry to hear that! You're meant for better things, obviously. 5y
Jess7 I'm sorry! Better things to come! At least you put yourself out there and you tried! Keep your head up! (edited) 5y
10 likes5 comments
blurb
Nitpickyabouttrains
post image

@eanderson tagged me in #5startpredictions and I did not have to stretch since I have all these out from the library right now. Excited to start started on these! I am tagging @Merethebookgal @jmtrivera @NAM99

review
Megaled
post image
Panpan

This book was so disappointing. On paper it's everything I should love: YA, space, royal princess who kicks ass, great comparisons in the blurb, and yes a gorgeous cover. However, what it is lacking is well- everything. For what the author was trying to do it was short (little over 300 pg) so descriptions about you know key story points were lacking or just missing. Continuity was huge fucking problem. It could have been great story but nope. 👎🏻

TheLibrarian Boo...this looked interesting. 5y
Megaled @TheLibrarian It did! That's the worst part it had so much potential. I think this read too much like the skeleton of the story- if it had been embellished and worked on more it could have worked. But lack of anything made it lazy and blah. 5y
9 likes2 comments
blurb
arelireads
post image

Starting my second read for #ReadathonByZoe! 💓

3 likes1 stack add
review
398.2
post image
Mehso-so

Working the weekend again BUT on the bright side I was able to start and finish this book. I don't know why it took me so long to notice the cover. Lol That's clever. It was a pretty good book. I was glad it wasn't filled with Romance. I am not a big fan of Rhee but I liked Aly. He was entertaining. Sometimes it felt like a lot was going on and I had a hard time keeping track of everything. I would read the second book.

quote
Miekecantstopreading
post image

"If all we are is what people think we are, then we're all screwed."

#empressofathousandskies #quote #rhodabelleza #abookadaykeepsrealityaway

1 like2 stack adds
blurb
Roselyn_Reads
post image

Found this baby for $4.00 bucks at a used book store today.

review
Basement_Bookcase
post image
Mehso-so

This book has the potential to be significantly longer. I feel like a lot of details and descriptions where missing. There's so much potential in this book but it falls short. The world building is especially lacking and leaves much to be desired. The story is interesting overall however and I'll read the next book but it's not high on my tbr pile.

⭐️⭐️⭐️

jrosewordsmith That was pretty much my views on it. There were a few points where key events happened off screen (I think you'll know the big one I'm talking about) and it sort of jolted me out of the story. It's a shame, cos like you say, the potential was there. I wasn't a huge fan of the 'twist' at the end, either 🙄 5y
Basement_Bookcase @jrosewordsmith I totally saw the twist coming. I was like 1/4 through and thought 'well this is going to happen' and it did. So much happened off screen it was hard to keep track sometimes. All this being said though I'll read the second book. There was just enough plot to keep me interested in the overall story. 5y
jrosewordsmith Yes, me too. And I loved Alyosha, if not quite Rhee or the romance, so there's that. Rhee was like the book as a whole - had potential but ended up a bit irritating 5y
14 likes3 comments