Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Cooking for Picasso
Cooking for Picasso | C A Belmond, Camille Aubray
16 posts | 14 read | 10 to read
For readers of Paula McLain, Nancy Horan, and Melanie Benjamin, this captivating novel is inspired by a little-known interlude in the artist s life. The French Riviera, spring 1936: It s off-season in the lovely seaside village of Juan-les-Pins, where seventeen-year-old Ondine cooks with her mother in the kitchen of their family-owned Cafe Paradis. A mysterious new patron who s slipped out of Paris and is traveling under a different name has made an unusual request to have his lunch served to him at the nearby villa he s secretly rented, where he wishes to remain incognito. Pablo Picasso is at a momentous crossroads in his personal and professional life and for him, art and women are always entwined. The spirited Ondine, chafing under her family s authority and nursing a broken heart, is just beginning to discover her own talents and appetites. Her encounter with Picasso will continue to affect her life for many decades onward, as the great artist and the talented young chef each pursue their own passions and destiny. New York, present day: Celine, a Hollywood makeup artist who s come home for the holidays, learns from her mother, Julie, that Grandmother Ondine once cooked for Picasso. Prompted by her mother s enigmatic stories and the hint of more family secrets yet to be uncovered, Celine carries out Julie s wishes and embarks on a voyage to the very town where Ondine and Picasso first met. In the lush, heady atmosphere of the Cote d Azur, and with the help of several eccentric fellow guests attending a rigorous cooking class at her hotel, Celine discovers truths about art, culture, cuisine, and love that enable her to embrace her own future. Featuring an array of both fictional characters and the French Riviera s most famous historical residents, set against the breathtaking scenery of the South of France, "Cooking for Picasso" is a touching, delectable, and wise story, illuminating the powers of trust, money, art, and creativity in the choices that men and women make as they seek a path toward love, success, and joie de vivre. Advance praise for "Cooking for Picasso" Intrigue, art, food, and deception are woven together in a tale of love and betrayal around the life and legacy of Picasso. Touching and true, this well-written narrative made me long for my mother s coq au vin and for the sun of Juan-les-Pins. Jacques Pepin, chef, TV personality, author Camille Aubray has created a vividly imagined tale of a young French woman s life-changing encounter with the most unconventional artist of the modern age. Intriguing and insightful, the sensory details alone will have you thinking you re reading the pages seated at a seaside cafe in the South of France. Susan Meissner, author of"Secrets of a Charmed Life" Takes the reader on a heartfelt journey to the South of France . . . In prose that is wise, atmospheric, and plain fun, Aubray expertly blends fact and fiction to create a rich and memorable tale. Michelle Gable, "New York Times "bestselling author of "A Paris Apartment" Aubray brings Picasso brilliantly to life. Her intriguing intertwined narratives are utterly spellbindingand deeply touching as rare as a page-turner with soul. Anne Fortier, "New York Times" bestselling author of "The Lost Sisterhood" and "Juliet" Awarm and spicy combination of art, family intrigue, food, and romance, set in sun-drenched Provence. Erica Bauermeister, bestselling author of "The School of Essential Ingredients" "From the Hardcover edition.""
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
quote
Mafiacisco
Cooking for Picasso | C A Belmond, Camille Aubray

"A tasty blend of romance, mystery and french cooking" - Margaret Atwood. Well, who wouldn't want to devour this book after such a recommendation?

blurb
TheBookDream
Cooking for Picasso | C A Belmond, Camille Aubray
post image

Cute #indie shop in Guilford, CT. Breakwater Books. Book title is what I bought today. Good coffee/tea shop right next door! #indiesfirst #breakwaterbooks

27 likes1 stack add
blurb
CarolineNotCoraline
Cooking for Picasso | C A Belmond, Camille Aubray
post image

Sometimes books have a quality of beauty and even if the story has some loose bits or the characters aren‘t as complete as they could be, the beauty is something to savor. This one has left me hungry and wishing I could jet off to the South of France....

RaimeyGallant Sounds lovely! And welcome to Litsy! #LitsyWelcomeWagon Some of us put together Litsy tips to help new Littens navigate the site. It's the link in my bio on my page in case you need it. 2y
1 like1 stack add1 comment
blurb
kspenmoll
Cooking for Picasso | C A Belmond, Camille Aubray
post image

#earlyeveningread #birdsong #LitsyPartyofOne
Finally back on my porch reading. Alternating between this book and Hidden Figures. (With non fiction I always have an alternative book). Doubt if I will finish either but its been relaxing to squeeze reading in when I can this weekend.
@Ambrosnazzy

britt_brooke Perfect! 3y
Tnovo I usually have to add some light fiction to my nonfiction reads. Breaks it up. 3y
kspenmoll @Tnovo Exactly!!!❤️ 3y
Lmstraubie Nice 😎 3y
61 likes1 stack add5 comments
blurb
kspenmoll
Cooking for Picasso | C A Belmond, Camille Aubray
post image
Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks Lovely pic 😊 3y
56 likes1 comment
blurb
kspenmoll
Cooking for Picasso | C A Belmond, Camille Aubray
post image

#LitsyPartyofOne #leftbookincar. #ReadingTotal80pages Had my book with me, but Did not read much yesterday due to Hartford City Football game- and tailgating. Totally new culture for me; feeling my way. A wonderfully welcoming, inclusive group. Plan to eventually find readers there- ❤️📚#HartfordCityFC #AgentsofHaleCT.
@Ambrosnazzy

SusanInTiburon Sounds like you enjoyed yourself - keep it up! 3y
kspenmoll I plan to! Thx for encouragement. Might even read @ptkpepe98 recommendation 3y
45 likes2 comments
blurb
kspenmoll
Cooking for Picasso | C A Belmond, Camille Aubray
post image

Beginning #LitsyPartyofOne after a wonderful family day trip to Roseland Cottage, Woodstock, CT. Fabulous gardens, "cottage" gothic revival- a piece of CT history I had no knowledge of; Henry Bowen, instrumental, behind scenes funding for Lincoln's election. Four presidents visited overnight there. In the family until 1968 so furniture etc. intact. So great end to my day! wine, popcorn, reading ???
@Ambrosnazzy

RealLifeReading Sounds perfect 3y
Reviewsbylola Perfect ending to a great day! 3y
readordierachel I like your shells! 3y
See All 7 Comments
queerbookreader Are you from CT? I went to UHart for a year! 3y
kspenmoll @RealLifeReading @Reviewsbylola It was truly perfect! Contentment.😃 3y
kspenmoll @ReadOrDieRachel UHart is about 30 min from where I live! 3y
kspenmoll @lemonlime799 Thx- the shells are from various beaches on Cape Cod, MA. One of my favorite places! 3y
60 likes7 comments
blurb
kspenmoll
Cooking for Picasso | C A Belmond, Camille Aubray
post image

#eveningreading #readingbycandlelight
Left my most recent book in the car. Too lazy to fetch it, so beginning new summer read. Beautiful evening; pinkish purple clouds, pale blue sky, soft breeze.

ValerieAndBooks Lovely atmosphere you've created!! 3y
JaclynW Looks perfect! 3y
kspenmoll @ValerieAndBooks @JaclynW It's my slice of heaven... 3y
See All 6 Comments
Zelma @kspenmoll I can see why it's heaven. So welcoming and cozy! 💕 3y
Gissy Love the picture! 😍 3y
kspenmoll @Gissy @Zelma Thanks! My refuge- ❤️❤️ 3y
70 likes2 stack adds6 comments
blurb
Emiller
Cooking for Picasso | C A Belmond, Camille Aubray
post image

My sweet Mahi and Wesley snuggle together while I curl up with a good book ❤️❤️

Robothugs Adorable!! 😍😍 3y
britt_brooke So sweet! 3y
KarenUK 💗💗💗 3y
See All 9 Comments
Eyelit 💚🐱💚🐶💚 3y
BooksForYears 💞🐶🐱💞 3y
valeriegeary Aww! Snuggly babies! 3y
LauraBeth So cute 😻🐶 3y
Faibka Cuties!!! 😍💜💜 3y
MrBook 😻😻😻😻😻😻😻😻😻 3y
44 likes9 comments
blurb
Emiller
Cooking for Picasso | C A Belmond, Camille Aubray
post image

Just started this one. I love books about artists, fiction and non fiction ❤️📚❤️📚

review
Pixielit
Cooking for Picasso | C A Belmond, Camille Aubray
Pickpick

"Takes the reader on a heartfelt journey to the south of France....in prose that is wise, atmospheric, and plain fun. Aubrey expertly blends fact and fiction to create a rich and memorable tale"

Michelle Gable. New York Times best selling author.

1 stack add
quote
Bookish_penguin
Cooking for Picasso | C A Belmond, Camille Aubray

"I don't care how rich and famous he was," Lola announced on our way out, "someone should have put up signs around him saying, 'Ladies, beware of the dog!'"

review
ScrappyMags
Cooking for Picasso | C A Belmond, Camille Aubray
post image
Pickpick

I totally enjoyed this book despite the fact Picasso? Kind of an asshat! Lol! But it's historical fiction and despite that description, Picasso was endearing (how does that happen?). The story is really the lives of two women. A grandmother and granddaughter who never met but share a connection. Full review on the blog: http://scrappymags.com/2016/08/09/cooking-for-picasso-by-camille-aubray-book-rev...

PurpleyPumpkin 😂😂😂 3y
ScrappyMags @PurpleyPumpkin oh how it thrills me that someone gets my sick humor. 😝😝 3y
PurpleyPumpkin @ScrappyMags Yes, you made the start of my day great!😉 3y
29 likes3 comments
review
BethFishReads
Cooking for Picasso | C A Belmond, Camille Aubray
post image
Pickpick

Surprised I enjoyed it as much as I did. Although fairly predictable, I was caught up in the adventure. Interesting take on Picasso. Two time periods--grandmother & granddaughter. Light summer read; solid 3 stars. Audio (read by Mozhan Marno) was nicely done.

DebinHawaii I added it to my foodie TBR stack. 👍 4y
20 likes1 comment
blurb
BethFishReads
Cooking for Picasso | C A Belmond, Camille Aubray
post image

Started this tonight. So far a charming, light story. Though I doubt he was served zucchini - oat - chocolate chip cake.

LitHousewife Yum! 4y
DebinHawaii @BethFishReads But I bet he would wish he was! 😉 It looks delicious! 4y
Rhondareads That looks so delicious 😍 4y
31 likes1 stack add3 comments