Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Black Water Rising (Harper Perennial)
Black Water Rising (Harper Perennial) | Attica Locke
29 posts | 31 read | 33 to read
From a powerful new voice in American fiction comes a brilliant debut legal thriller, written in the tradition of Dennis Lehane and Scott Turow, involving murder, greed, and redemption and set in the oil boomtown of 1980s Houston.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
Tonton
Black Water Rising | Attica Locke
post image
Pickpick

Read Bluebird, Bluebird and became a fan immediately. This is her first book, and it‘s equally impressive. Ex-radical activist turned community lawyer is just trying to make a living, and is sucked onto a whirlpool of political and corporate corruption during Houston‘s oil boom. He and his pregnant wife are witnesses to a murder, and he is reluctantly drawn into an union strike. Evocative of the city and the times; racism and betrayal the same.

review
irre
Black Water Rising | Attica Locke
post image
Pickpick

Great mystery. 4 ⭐️

Liatrek Great book and the sequel is good 😊 9mo
irre @Liatrek Good to know that the sequel is good. I‘ll get to it eventually. 9mo
72 likes2 stack adds2 comments
blurb
MDodge
post image

Aaaand done with #24in48 🎉 I‘m still planning to finish this one tonight though it‘s so so good!

The_Heeler_Booklife Congrats! 🎈🎉🎊🍾 10mo
parttimedomestic Congrats! 🎉🎉🎉 10mo
9 likes2 comments
blurb
SunriseBooks

I loved this protagonist and his backstory. Corporate greed, loss of youthful idealism, lots more. Thank you, Attica Locke, for proving that a great plot doesn‘t mean wooden characters and bad dialogue. I‘m not naming any names.

1 like1 stack add
blurb
Liatrek
Black Water Rising | Attica Locke
post image

Attica Locke is one of my favorite authors! If you haven‘t read this book I highly recommend it! There is a sequel to the book too!

blurb
Liatrek
Black Water Rising | Attica Locke
post image

Book- Black Water Rising by Attica Locke
Food- Bacon
Author- Octavia Butler
Movie- Big - One of my favorite Tom Hanks movies
#MANICMONDAY

tammysue Love that movie! But then anything Tom Hanks is in is fantastic! 😁 1y
OrangeMooseReads Big is a fantastic movie! 1y
Eggs 💖Big 1y
JoScho Big is a great choice! 1y
69 likes4 comments
review
Chellebearss
Black Water Rising | Attica Locke
post image
Panpan

Do you ever just pick up a book and realize that while there is nothing really wrong with it, you just don't like it? This is how I felt reading this one. It has all the elements that I normally enjoy in a crime novel but I found my mind wandering while I read it and the pacing was a little slow. I've heard really good things about this author's most recent novel and I've really wanted to try her stuff and I still intend to. 2.5🌟 #87of2018

Dragon I haven‘t read this one but I liked 1y
arubabookwoman I liked this one, but I‘m very familiar with Houston. On the other hand, I didn‘t like her latest, so if you ever wanted to try her again, that would not be the one I‘d recommend. 1y
Chellebearss @Dragon I have cutting season waiting for me :-) 1y
93 likes4 comments
blurb
Susan
post image

Trying out Attica Locke!

7 likes1 stack add
review
alisonrose
Black Water Rising | Attica Locke
Pickpick

Ok it's hella late and I worked too much and my brain is half asleep so just gonna say that this was enjoyable and gripping at times, but a wee bit implausible at others. Did like the author's writing style and the characters, and will definitely read more from her. Hoping her work gets stronger chronologically. 3/5 ⭐️

blurb
alisonrose
Black Water Rising | Attica Locke
post image

Her newest book came out a few months ago (I think?) and it's gotten a lot of praise, but with a new-to-me author, I like starting at the beginning ...
#nowreading #femmeuary #blackhistorymonth

28 likes2 stack adds
blurb
Allietaylor16
Black Water Rising | Attica Locke
post image

Library sale haul!

readordierachel Nice! 👍 2y
Megabooks 👍🏻👍🏻 2y
DrexEdit Nice haul! 👍👍😊📚 2y
45 likes3 comments
review
cathysaid
Black Water Rising | Attica Locke
post image
Pickpick

Oil, race and murder combine in this slowly simmering #debut novel set in 1980's Houston. Attica Locke draws the reader in through description so expertly crafted that you feel the humidity of the bayou settling on your skin. Some characters could be more attentively drawn and the ending, while satisfying and believable, clearly points toward a continuation of the plot in a following book. I will definitely read more by Locke. 4/5 ⭐️

#crime

40 likes1 stack add
blurb
cathysaid
Black Water Rising | Attica Locke
post image

Almost done with this one! So glad I accidentally discovered this author. And I'm ever so grateful that Maya shares her couch with me. 🐶 #dogsoflitsy

DGRachel Such a precious face! 2y
cathysaid @DGRachel We're in the sunroom and she's watching her very best friend (aka my husband) mow the grass. Without her. How dare he. 2y
Karkar How dare he leave her ...😂😂my girls do the same thing when my husband mows the yard too! 2y
See All 7 Comments
cathysaid @Karkar Isn't it just tragic? And if I dare to touch him when he's petting her, I get total side-eye. 🙄 2y
MallenNC She's so cute! Also I love Attica Locke's mysteries. I'm sad that I've read all there are so I have to wait for her to finish another one. 2y
cathysaid @MallenNC Thanks! And I'm glad to hear there are more of Locke's books available. I only saw one other one on the shelf at my library and I definitely want to read more. 2y
MallenNC @cathysaid Yes, there are three more. Pleasantville is about the same character as Black Water Rising, then there's The Cutting Season, and her newest, Bluebird, Bluebird (I listened to the audiobook). I read them all this year. Now I have to wait. 2y
31 likes3 stack adds7 comments
blurb
cathysaid
Black Water Rising | Attica Locke
post image

Reading in the sunroom. ☀️☀️ Enjoying my first Attica Locke. #crime #debut

(Enjoy the puppy butt 😁🙄)

ApoptyGina69 I, too, am reading my first Attica Locke 2y
cathysaid @ApoptyGina69 How do you like it? 2y
ApoptyGina69 I‘ll get back to it tomorrow during the readathon and create a real opinion. Currently swamped under 2y
31 likes3 comments
review
readswellwithothers
Black Water Rising | Attica Locke
post image
Pickpick

I have no shortage of books to read here at my palace, but that does not keep me from wandering into my local library with book lust on a very regular basis. This week, I literally just grabbed a book off the shelf that caught my eye and took it home without so much as a glance at the jacket blurbs...so spontaneous!...and this is how I met Attica Locke. I *loved* BWR and quickly went back to snag Pleasantville. READING IS SO MUCH DAMN FUN!

review
lauralovesbooks1
Black Water Rising | Attica Locke
post image
Pickpick

Gritty, atmospheric drama set in Houston in the early '80's. Jay Porter is scraping by as a lawyer when he sees a woman drowning one night. From there, the story bends and weaves, touching on issues of race, economics, the oil industry and political corruption. Very well constructed.

24 likes3 stack adds
blurb
kmell33
Black Water Rising | Attica Locke
post image

Library trip = new TBR pile. #librarybooks #tbr

10 likes1 stack add
blurb
EllieDottie
Black Water Rising | Attica Locke
post image

This are the books I could find with a #colorinthetitle! #splashintosummerreads

60 likes1 stack add
blurb
Liatrek
Black Water Rising | Attica Locke
post image

#maybookflowers Body of water - Excellent book and I need to read the sequel.

Matilda She has two crime novels coming out starting in fall and I can't wait! 3y
27 likes1 stack add1 comment
review
Julsmarshall
Black Water Rising | Attica Locke
Pickpick

Riveting book! The author expertly put you in the scene-the characters were complex and the setting gritty and real. It kept me guessing and I couldn't put it down. Can't wait to read another of hers! ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

blurb
Julsmarshall
Black Water Rising | Attica Locke
post image

Loving this dark noir set in Houston, Texas. A little dark for this beautiful early spring morning with the birds singing but there you go! #currentread

LauraBeth Look at that beautiful GSHP! 3y
Alytrue Haven't read this one, but loved The Cutting Season. 3y
MicheleinPhilly I've bought a couple of her books on super sale, including this one. Curious to hear what you think! 3y
58 likes3 stack adds3 comments
review
bookwrm526
Black Water Rising | Attica Locke
Mehso-so

I wavered between pick and so-so for this one. The characters are interesting and the writing is good, but the story seemed about 100 pages too long to me. I do have a lot going on at the moment so it could just have been because of the distractions. I will give the second one a go! #LitsyAtoZ #LetterL #LitsyReadingChallenge #LRC3 #womanofcolorauthor

bookwrm526 Also, I can't find Jessica in the list of users to tag! 3y
37 likes1 comment
blurb
bookwrm526
Black Water Rising | Attica Locke
post image

#ReadJanuary This is my current read that's set in a warmer climate - Houston, TX in the summer in the early 80s. I wouldn't want to be in this story, but I could stand a visit to Houston!

8little_paws I read her other book, and it was very good 3y
bookwrm526 @8little_paws this is my first of the Jay Porter books, but I read and enjoyed 3y
49 likes2 comments
blurb
bookwrm526
Black Water Rising | Attica Locke
post image

"Mom, please put down the book and play with meeeeee!!!!" He's trying to tempt me, but I'm trying to finish this one before the new year!

Lacythebookworm 😻😻 3y
37 likes1 comment
blurb
Liatrek
Black Water Rising | Attica Locke
post image

#booktober Attics Locke is one of my new favorite authors. I've read two of her books and can't wait for more! This amazing piece of work was he debut novel. I can't wait to read the sequel.

blurb
Matilda
Black Water Rising | Attica Locke
post image

🔔🔔🔔 I love Attica Locke and her Black Water Rising is $1.99. (I recently read her next book should be coming fall 2017 and I'm already excited.)

Hooked_on_books Looks good! Thanks for posting this. 3y
37 likes2 stack adds1 comment
review
Matilda
Black Water Rising | Attica Locke
post image
Pickpick

I love Attica Locke and will read anything she writes! Just saw her Black Water Rising is .99cents ebook & thought I'd share if it's on your TBR list.

Matilda *I'm gonna have to figure out the borders on pics so I stop having stuff cropped out lol 4y
jeff Hi Matilda - within photo editor, you can select Crop and square crop to see what will appear. We are working on new photo layouts and will also have full-size photo preview in next version! 4y
Matilda Thanks for the tip! @jefflebl 4y
6 likes2 stack adds3 comments